Red Carpet Watch: ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ Round-up

It is nearly time for Catching Fire! (I loved it. And it has made one of my fav films of the year so far.) When The Hunger Games came out we hadn’t started this dear old blog so there was no RCW for that (sadly cos there were some a-mayzing dresses and suits for the promotional tour), but we’re here now and so here comes the promotional tour photos:

London Premiere

Hunger Games World Premiere

Sam Claflin (Finnick Odair) wearing Burberry. Claflin is one of the new actors to the cast and he cements his place on the red carpet with this unusual suit. Beginning his own personal trend for double-breasted suits with a patterned scarf in place of a tie we have a noticeably different look to the more classic styles of Josh Hutcherson and Liam Hemsworth. The whole look works really well from the colour of the suit, to the pocket square to the brown loafers. A very British look…

'Hunger Games' World Premiere

Willow Shields (Primrose Everdeen) wearing Emilia Wickstead. Shields has definitely gone for a younger look to match her age but that doesn’t mean that her dress is babyish. The colour (apparently much brighter in the flesh) works well against her complexion and her hair and the white wedges add to the youth.

'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire' Premiere

Jena Malone (Johanna Mason) wearing Monique Lhuillier. Malone is another of the new actors and has to compete with Elizabeth Banks and Jennifer Lawrence on the red carpet – no easy task. The dress has been a grower on me. I’m predisposed to love it just cos it’s red but I also love the detailing. The fringing and Art Deco inspired geometry of the sequins reminds me of the ’20s but then this is combined with sheer fabric and overlayed with flowery embroidery. The dress isn’t particularly revealing but no one can say that it isn’t a sexy dress.

Hunger Games World Premiere

Banks (Effie Trinket) wearing Jason Wu. I have to admit that I’m not a total fan of this dress. I love the shape, and the weight the fabric gives to the train… The cut outs are a nice touch… I have no issue with the yellow but I just don’t LOVE it.

'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire' World premiere

Hemsworth (Gale Hawthorne) wearing Alexander McQueen, Lawrence (Katniss Everdeen) wearing Christian Dior Couture and Hutcherson (Peeta Mellark) wearing Emporio Armani. Both men have gone for a more classic suit look for the World Premiere. You can’t really fault it but there’s nothing necessarily to shout about – although Hemsworth’s barbed wire tie is a nice sharp touch and slight reference to the film. As Lawrence is the face of Dior handbags it comes as no surprise that all of her premiere dresses were Dior and this is the first. There have been some criticisms of this dress but I really like it. The drape of it reminds me of Vionnet in the ’30s but then we have a highly embellished front panel to bring it up to date. Maybe the panel could have hit a more flattering angle but the lowered nature just reflects the vintage inspiration even more.

Hunger Games World Premiere

Berlin Premiere

GERMANY-ENTERTAINMENT-FILM-PREMIER-HUNGER GAMES

Hemsworth wearing Hugo Boss, Banks wearing Elie Saab Couture, Lawrence wearing Christian Dior and Hutcherson wearing Billy Reid. We know I love a tie pin/tie clip and a non-black suit so Hemsworth is winning here. But, Hutcherson has another non-black suit and this one’s a three-piece… I prefer Hutcherson’s shoes but I think Hemsworth just pulls off that suit really well. Banks is wearing a beautiful dress (of course, it’s Elie Saab) that I can fully support and I really like Lawrence’s Dior coat/dress too. Very weather appropriate and you’ve got to applaud that. Plus, the tailoring behind it is exquisite and it has some great detailing on the skirt of the coat – wonderful texture to just add to the flare.

Madrid Photo Call

'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire' Madrid Photocall

Lawrence wearing Alexander McQueen. Bright blue, the mid-driff trend in a much more subdued way plus some edge with those shoes and the detailing on the top and skirt. I’m a fan.

Madrid Premiere

'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire' - Madrid Premiere

Hemsworth wearing Dolce & Gabbana , Lawrence wearing Christian Dior and Hutcherson wearing Calvin Klein. Hemsworth’s suit is another great choice with more of the slimline silhouette. Depending on photos, the blue of Lawrence’s dress and Hutcherson’s suit are a touch brighter than they appear here… Hutcherson’s suit has a nicer tone and overall look in other photos – the navy of the suit works really well with the colour for the shirt and tie. Lawrence’s dress looks closer in tone to Hutcherson’s suit as well. I really like the cut of the dress and the colour…apart from the sheer panel. I just don’t care for its asymmetry or flow.

Rome Photo Call

'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire' Photocall - The 8th Rome Film Festival

Lawrence wearing Proenza Schouler. This is a great dress for a photocall. It isn’t too fussy and overdressed, nor is it overly simple and boring. The stripe of yellow focuses attention and draws your eyes to the turnlocks on the front of the dress. A perfect feature for this dress.

Rome Premiere

'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire' Premiere - The 8th Rome Film Festival

Hemsworth wearing Dolce & Gabbana, Lawrence wearing Christian Dior Couture and Hutcherson wearing Dolce & Gabbana. Hemsworth looks flawless. This is the most “dressed up” any of the actors have appeared and it works. Although Hutcherson’s suit does have many fitting issues – visible more in solo photos.  Both actors have gone for slim cut suits but unfortunately only Hemsworth’s has the right fit. But Lawrence has stepped up the glamour stakes and reminds us how beautiful she looked in that Oscar dress. The dress is the star here so once again Lawrence has stayed clear on accessories.

Paris Premiere

'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire' Paris Premiere At Le Grand Rex

Banks wearing Alexander McQueen, Hemsworth wearing Dior Homme, Lawrence wearing Christian Dior Couture and Hutcherson wearing Dolce & Gabbana. Banks has returned to add more glamour to the proceedings. The McQueen dress is quirky but understated and gives a great difference from Effie’s McQueen costumes in Catching Fire. Hemsworth is wearing the first of his Dior Homme suits of the tour and we have another slimline suit – this time complete with tie clip. Lawrence has taken a sharp step away from some of her prettier dresses for this distinctly vampy dress. I’m not sure it fully works for me. I love the skirt with the gathering and flow of the fabric but it’s the top where it seems so…unstructured for Lawrence’s figure. It’s daring and unusual but not an all and out winner for me. Hutcherson once again has a good fitting suit, a tie clip and it’s a great purple. His best suit?

Oslo Premiere

Premiere The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Banks wearing Elie Saab Couture and Malone wearing Reem Acra. The girls win here. Hands down. Banks looks amazing in another stunning Elie Saab. And I even like the shoes. Then Malone is playing up the vamp again but as with the red dress in London, actually “revealing” very little. Just great style. But Claflin’s outfit just doesn’t work for me as a whole. I like the top half, but the trousers just don’t look right to me. But they could work with a different jacket… I think it’s to do with the colours. Still the double-breasted “Claflin” trend though.

Los Angeles Premiere

elizabeth-banks-jena-malone-catching-fire-la-premiere-08

Shields wearing Katie Ermilio. I really like the print of this dress and the shape. Of the skirt at least. The bodice is a bit boxy for me but you can’t deny that she looks great and has chosen the best way to wear the dress – cleanly.

elizabeth-banks-jena-malone-catching-fire-la-premiere-03

Malone wearing Nicholas Oakwell Couture. This dress reminds me way too much of Jaime Alexander’s Thor: The Dark World premiere dress. And that’s not good. Unfortunately my brain can’t unmake the connection so I’m not a fan.

sam-claflin-zoe-kravitz-catching-fire-la-premiere-01

Claflin wearing Alexander McQueen. Double-breasted, patterned scarf, “Claflin”. I prefer this outfit much more than the last one.

liam-hemsworth-josh-hutcherson-catching-fire-la-premiere-05

Banks wearing Versace, Hemsworth wearing Dior Homme, Lawrence wearing Christian Dior Couture and Hutcherson wearing Dolce & Gabbana. Banks wins. That is all. A slightly wider cut suit for Hemsworth, great cut, and I love the tie. I’m not a total fan of Lawrence’s sheer dress. It’s the underwear bit I don’t like. If there had been an underskirt I think I’d prefer it. I like the pattern and the shape of the dress, the bustier feature (from the waist up), the great belt and I love the shoes. Hutcherson’s suit, although three-piece, is a bit too shiny shiny for me. That just distracts me from everything else about it.

Toronto Premiere

jena-malone-sam-claflin-catching-fire-toronto-premiere-10

Malone wearing Dora Abodi. Claflin’s got the patterned scarf, but this time the beginnings of a single-breasted three-piece suit. It’s another unusual look for the actor but I’m a fan. I really want to like Malone’s dress but I can’t warm to the clashing patterns of the flounce. It reminds me too much of a curtain valance. I’m clearly an old person at heart. I like the dress minus the flounce. I like the shape, the fabric, the print.

New York Premiere

"The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" New York Special Screening - Inside Arrivals

Claflin wearing Prada. My favourite Claflin look. He hasn’t fully matched his suit (that would be too boring) but it is still a sharp look – more so possibly. The wool trousers are a great fit with a great weight and colour and I love the velvet jacket. Plus, tie slide.

"The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" New York Special Screening - Inside Arrivals

Hemsworth wearing Dior Homme. My favourite Hemsworth look. It’s not all black. It’s still the slimline that he loves so and the whole thing works perfectly. Maybe it’s a Dior Homme thing.

New York Special Screening of "The Hunger Games Catching Fire"

Banks wearing Jenny Packham, Lawrence wearing Christian Dior and Malone wearing Valentino. Banks is no stranger to more daring red carpet outfits and this is definitely unusual. But it works. The detailed embellishment along the legs, the bodice and even with peplums add a great deal of femininity to the jumpsuit. I like Lawrence’s dress (actually more of a tuxedo jacket that makes me want to love it more than I do) but it doesn’t quite have the pizzaz of some of her other dresses, or of Banks’ jumpsuit. The low neckline with the bright yellow and black lace insert make it more interesting but even then nothing screams out about it. In a good or bad way. Malone’s dress…it’s just a bit boring. Especially compared to her other red carpet looks

S x

One thought on “Red Carpet Watch: ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ Round-up

  1. Fabulous roundup! The LA premiere sheer dress is daring in a good way. It reminds me of Busby Berkeley chorus girls from the 30s. But that black vamp dress (McQueen?) with the unstructured bodice does not work for a woman of her endowments. It’s too overtly erotic to be in good taste for a public event.

Leave a Reply

