My Current Addiction

888b0b057864fc8a43ba176c5fd5ccb2

For the past few weeks any time that hasn’t been spent at work or being “productive” I have spent watching Twin Peaks. Yes it has taken me a long time when you consider that the show first aired 21 years ago but considering I come from a family where my Dad has never seen Twin Peaks and my Mum has never even heard of it. I had been meaning to watch it for a while but had got distracted and hadn’t followed it through but then I remembered, borrowed the DVD boxset (from friend of DTSFT Lydia) and stormed through it. Best decision.

AudreyHorne

Currently Audrey Horne (Sherilyn Fenn) is fighting with Peggy Carter for my heart.

Currently Audrey Horne (Sherilyn Fenn) is fighting with Peggy Carter for my heart.

When you’ve seen Twin Peaks you understand the cult following and the little references but, generally speaking, many of these things aren’t so prevalent today. This is particularly true of my “age group”. I mentioned to a number of people that I was watching Twin Peaks and I got two responses: “I love that show!” or “what’s that?” I don’t know if it’s different in America because I know that Twin Peaks had very limited airing in the UK. (Being that I was two or three at the time I have no memory of this. Sadly.) The show was aired on BBC2 in 1990 and has never been shown on terrestrial TV since. It has been aired on The Horror Channel in 2010 (where Lydia watched it) and maybe another channel before…? Twin Peaks is due to be released on Blu-Ray later this year or in 2014 and I, for one, can’t wait.

tumblr_ld2xerGj6g1qf4elio1_500

I have now completed my addiction with Twin Peaks inspired toes and jewellery purchases. Etsy I love and hate you. I also made two not entirely successful cherry pies. Sigh.

S x

2 thoughts on “My Current Addiction

  1. I never saw it, but I think Twin Peaks was one of the first shows that ran one story over a whole season successfully. It probably set up that format for a ton of shows to follow.

  2. Pingback: The Costumes of ‘Agent Carter’ that Already Make it Great | Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

Leave a Reply

