Red Carpet Watch: The Met Gala 2013

Unfortunately Sophia is unable to do this post, so I’ve been asked to fill in for her today. Wish me luck!

The Met Gala took place yesterday, and theme for this year was ‘punk’, and I must say that some of the red carpet choices were, um…interesting (not to name any names…Ms Richie) but there quite a few that did stand out, punky and non-punky (expect the word ‘punk’ to be dropped very frequently):

Rooney Mara in Givenchy

rooney mara

Beautiful dress. She has quite pale skin, so I thought a white dress would wash her out, but it suits her perfectly. I also love her dark lipstick, very “punk”. She looks flawless.

Sienna Miller in Burberry

sienna miller

Also looking amazing in white. And I love love LOVE that spiked jacket and spiked hairband (although former is gold and the latter is silver…I’m pernickety like that). She’s kept the dress simple to let her punky accessories do the talking. This has to be one of my favourite outfits from the event.

Lena Dunham (with Erdem Moralioglu) in Erdem

lena dunham

Honestly I’ve never taken to Lena Dunham’s red carpet looks, but here I think she looks great. The dress is very understated and gothic, and I think the polka dot lace at the top is very her. I love the simple, slicked back hairdo too.

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley in Gucci

"PUNK: Chaos To Couture" Costume Institute Gala

It’s quite an unusual look, but that’s what I like about it. I think the top half is kinda punky but the bottom half keeps it sophisticated and balances out the top half. But perhaps she could have worn darker make-up.

Nicholas Hoult in Dior Homme

nicholas hoult

Nicholas Hoult looks every inch un homme in this fitted suit. The colour of the jacket is gorgeous and makes his eyes pop. The bow tie could have been a bit smaller, but he’s wearing a pocket square, so we’ll let that one slide – for now.

Emily Blunt in Carolina Herrera

emily blunt

Her hair and make-up are fabulous, and I also like the gothic look of her shoes. It’s a very simple and understated dress but she wears it very well. Despite the DTSFT Team’s mixed feelings about her, we all agree that she has impeccable red carpet style.

Ginnifer Goodwin in Tory Burch

ginnifer goodwin

Y’all already know how I feel about this lady. I think she’s amazing. And here’s transformed from fairy tale princess to punk princess. The style of the dress is very different but I really do like it. Now, her make-up…maybe if she toned down the eyeshadow juuust a little it would look great. Good on her for working this look though!

Cara Delevingne in Thakoon

cara delevingne

I absolutely love this dress, and if I had it (and her banging body) I’d wear it pretty much everywhere. She’s kept to the punk theme with the spiky detail and ‘half and half’ hairstyle, and the clutch adds a nice contrast.

Nina Dobrev in Monique Lhuillier

nina dobrev

I noticed that one or two ladies were wearing the jumpsuit/dress look, but I think Nina was the one who pulled it off the best. She’s kept everything simple and toned down and her quiffy hair adds a nice punky touch.

Zachary Quinto

zachary quinto

His hair and shoes are so cute! I also really like the little chain across the waistcoat which is a nod to the theme. Although I can’t help but think that this outfit would have looked even better if it was a suit: a blue blazer would finish the look nicely.

Cameron Diaz in Stella McCartney

cameron diaz

This has to be another of my favourites. I love everything about this look: the colour, the spiky belt, the style, her hair…simply stunning.

Nicki Minaj in Tommy Hilfiger

US-FASHION-MET-COSTUME-GALA

Nicki Minaj is very well-known for her outrageous red carpet outfits, but since she apparently sacked her whole style team in favour of a more demure look, it seems that her choice has definitely paid off. The cut-out dress is elegant yet sexy, and she’s added a shot of punk with that clutch and her blonde mane. I think she looks great.

Darren Criss in Richard Chai

darren criss

Unfortunately I couldn’t get a red carpet picture, but you only need to see the jacket anyway. It has a checked pattern, which is very, very punk like, but he’s pulled the whole look back a bit with the black shirt, trousers and tie. Having said that though, the tie is kind of lost against that shirt. Maybe he could have worn a green one?

Zooey Deschanel in Tommy Hilfiger

zooey deschanel

I swear down I didn’t recognise her when I saw this picture. The dress isn’t punky (although the safety-pin clutch could be) but she still looks lovely. It’s a very flowy and sweet dress which suits her perfectly.

Jennifer Lawrence in Christian Dior

jennifer lawrence

You could say that she’s playing it a bit safe with this dress, but on the other hand, why mess with what works? I really like this dress, it’s very sweet and feminine but the high platforms and veil give it a punky, tough edge. I really love the fact that she wore a veil, something that no-one else there had done.

Christoph Waltz in Prada

christoph waltz

Yes, your man Christoph Waltz was there, looking dapper as ever. When it comes to suits, the man can do no wrong, especially in this navy blue one with a snazzy stripe down the trouser leg. And look at this guy’s face – even he knows he’s on point!

Kate Mara in Delpozo

kate mara

Another favourite. The colour is lovely and goes well with her skin tone. It doesn’t keep to the punk theme, but it’s so unique that I’m not surprised she wore it anyway. I also like that she didn’t overdo it with the hair and make up. It’s all about the dress.

Naomie Harris in Donna Karan

naomie harris

Such a beautiful dress. I love the gradual shading of the colours and the cut-out shoulders. I love her hair and blinging accessories too. It’s not punk themed, but she looks nothing short of glamourous.

Jennifer Morrison in Donna Karan Atelier

jennifer morrison

I had to pick a back shot of her because her hair is fantastic. It’s definitely punky but still very feminine. I also love the gothic looking material of her dress and the one shoulder style. All that plus an injection of colour with her bright red lips. Amazing.

Carey Mulligan in Balenciaga

carey mulligan

It’s a very sleek and elegant dress but the angular shape of it along with her smoky eyeshadow and slicked hair keep it with the theme. Part of me does think she could have done something more with her look, but then again she’s always made quite demure choices when it comes to red carpet outfits, which I think suits her very well.

Joshua Jackson (with Diane Kruger) in Dior Homme

joshua jackson

I’m all about the tie with this look. And we have another tie pin (I think)! I hope that trend catches on, because personally I love it. I also really like the white contrast on the jacket, which makes the look interesting but still keeps it formal. I’d also like to mention Diane Kruger’s pink dip-dyed hair. It’s so cute, and very…wait for it…punky.

Hannah

Leave a Reply

