Red Carpet Watch: ‘Iron Man 3’ Hollywood Premiere

This was the big premiere. The earlier Iron Man 3 premieres looked a bit half-hearted when you see the crowd that attended the Los Angeles one. So let’s get started:

Jaimie Alexander

Jaimie Alexander (Sif in Thor and Thor: The Dark World) wearing Marc Bouwer. I love the colour of this dress – I’m not sure why I like yellow so much but I do. And the simple shape works beautifully for Alexander. The one extravagance on this dress is the embellished neckline with a cut-out. It’s demure and sexy at the same time.

Robert Downey Jr., Susan Downey

Susan Downey and Robert Downey Jr. I love Susan’s dress and is it me or has Downey got a coordinated pocket square? Super cute. I love his three-piece suit but it’s still worn with typical Downey style – loose tie, unbuttoned shirt collar and trainers. The white is just too much for me. I’m sorry. (Maybe it’s the lifts in them too…)

Sebastian Stan

Sebastian Stan (Bucky Barnes in Captain America: The First Avenger and Captain America: The Winter Soldier) wearing John Varvatos. Very laid-back look. I’m not sure if this is a good or bad thing though. The most disappointing aspect is his hair. This makes no sense for Bucky…

Rebecca Hall

Rebecca Hall wearing Prada. I can’t bring myself to a decision as to whether this is a great dress or not…I think I like aspects of it. I definitely don’t like the shoes though.

Tom Hiddleston, Chris Hemsworth and Elsa Pataky

Tom Hiddleston and Chris Hemsworth both look great – similar styles to previous premiere appearances. Hiddleston wearing a grey suit with sharp lines (and a pocket square) and Hemsworth wearing a blue suit in a more relaxed way.

Cobie Smulders

Cobie Smulders (Agent Maria Hill in Avengers Assemble) wearing Halston. I really like the simple style of this dress. And it’s red. We know how I love red. The relaxed seventies vibe of the dress is also played up and I love this.

Emily VanCamp

Emily VanCamp (Agent 13/Sharon Carter? in Captain America: The Winter Soldier) wearing Temperley London. I really like the shoes here – they have a total Deco style about them and I love everything and anything Art Deco-y. I’m less of a fan of the dress. I’m not sure why. I like the nude-y tone of it and the gold accents coordinated with the shoes but…I think it needs something more. Maybe it’s too simple a shape for me.

Kat Dennings

Kat Dennings (Darcy in Thor and Thor: The Dark World) wearing Dolce & Gabbana). There is a lot going on in this dress but somehow, it works. I love it. Saying that, I really don’t like the shoes. Really don’t. Loving the bright pink lips though so I’m going to concentrate on the good aspects.

Zachary Levi

Zachary Levi (Fandral in Thor: The Dark World) wearing Reiss. If we’re ticking boxes here we’ve got three-piece, pocket square and not black. The blue is pretty bright but it works. I really like it. It fits perfectly and the beige tie accent and brown shoes are great. I’m having fewer problems with Fandral’s re-casting now.

Don Cheadle

Don Cheadle wearing a sharp three-piece suit. The tie is a little too wide for my liking but that’s nearly too petty for words. It’s a good suit if not maybe a little wide…

Hayley Atwell

Hayley Atwell (Peggy Carter in Captain America: The First Avenger and Captain America: The Winter Soldier) wearing a Naven blouse (confirming that she’s not wearing a dress). I love the tuxedo jacket. Love it. I always love a tuxedo jacket. The skirt is a pencil skirt with a double-ended zip down the left side. This is amazing. The issue is the blouse. It’s…just a little odd. And I think it might be on the ¬†wrong side of sexy – just a bit too much emphasis on Atwell’s…assets. The necklace is pretty badass though. But I still love her.

Sir Ben Kingsley

Sir Ben Kingsley wearing a very simple black suit, black shirt combination. The yellow and black tie just adds some colour to brighten and lift the outfit.

Guy Pearce

Guy Pearce wearing Dolce & Gabbana. Simple, well-cut, relaxed. Not much to talk about. It’s a good look (and very different from his costume as Aldrich Killian).

Gwyneth Paltrow

Gwyneth Paltrow wearing Antonio Beradi. At first glance, mostly from this photo, the dress looks very impressive. Some interesting panels and sheer sections. And then there’s this photo. Now I have a very different impression of the dress. And it’s not an altogether great one…

S x

One thought on “Red Carpet Watch: ‘Iron Man 3’ Hollywood Premiere

Leave a Reply

