Happy Birthday Debbie Reynolds!

Today marks Debbie Reynolds’ 81st birthday. I’m ashamed to say that I know very little of Reynolds beyond her role in Singin’ in the Rain (1952), but that’s enough right? So DTSFT are celebrating Reynolds’ birthday with clips and pics:

Kathy

Debbie Reynolds 1st April 1932

Gene Kelly and Debbie Reynolds

The two hardest things I ever did in my life are childbirth and Singin’ in the Rain.

Irony alert: Filming the sequence where Kathy dubs Lena’s singing and speaking voices in “The Dancing Cavalier,” it was decided that Reynolds’ voice wasn’t working, so Jean Hagen’s own speaking voice was used to dub Reynolds. Plus, Betty Noyes dubbed Reynolds’ singing voice for the “Would You” number in that scene.

How much do you love the print of this dress? Lots.

How much do you love the print of this dress? Lots.

Donald O'Connor, Debbie Reynolds and Gene Kelly

All I Do is Dream of You

Someday I will have this as a fancy dress costume. Someday. No one steal this from me! (Maybe, I should’ve kept quiet…)

S x

Leave a Reply

