Saw This And Thought It Was Weird

I did a STATIWC post on Galibardy jewellery waaaay back when the website featured some brilliant cartoonish jewellery with somewhat Illuminati themes – eyes in triangles, that sort of thing. Well, I’ve been back to visit that website, as I often do when funds are low, and I noticed that it seems to be featuring a load of ‘cuffs’.  I can’t decide how I feel about them, to be honest – some of them are cool, some of them are just weird, the kind of thing I think you’d have to build your outfit around.  But hey, some people are into that, and I do love big, weird jewellery.  So like the title suggests, maybe these aren’t as cool as they are weird…

This one is £14, it caught my eye for the obvious reason that it is super bright - I'm sure that anyone who loves foxes or bright colours would go for this, but I reckon you'd need wrists and forearms that are not too fat and not too thin - too fat, this cuff'll clench, too thin and it'll keep slipping off.

This one is £14, it caught my eye for the obvious reason that it is super bright – I’m sure that anyone who loves foxes or bright colours would go for this, but I reckon you’d need wrists and forearms that are not too fat and not too thin – too fat, this cuff’ll clench, too thin and it’ll keep slipping off.

Only available in two colours, pink or purple, but for your £14 you get two cuffs. I like these ones, they're dramatic because of the spikes but the girly pinks and purples make them a little cuter.

These are possibly more versatile.  Only available in two colours, pink or purple, but for your £14 you get two cuffs. I like these ones, they’re dramatic because of the spikes but the girly pinks and purples make them a little cuter.

Another fox-themed cuff, this time less cute and little more... I think noble might be the word I'm looking for. This was the one I thought was weird, mostly because for some reason it reminds me of the opening animated sequence of Watership Down, and I'll be damned if I'm going to let a piece of jewellery remind me of those poor rabbits every time I look at it. Bright eeeeyyyyeeees.... oh god, it's started again...

Another £14 fox-themed cuff, this time less cute and little more… I think noble might be the word I’m looking for. But this was the one I thought was weird, mostly because for some reason it reminds me of the opening animated sequence of Watership Down, and I’ll be damned if I’m going to let a piece of jewellery remind me of those poor rabbits every time I look at it. Bright eeeeyyyyeeees…. oh god, it’s started again…

And finally, the cheapest of the lot at £12 is the monochrome cuff, available in 3 different colours. I love these ones, there's something ethnic about the pattern, I can't quite put my finger on it but it's lovely. The layered perspex make for a really bold, statement piece. In particular, the yellow one is my favourite...

And finally, the cheapest of the lot at £12 is the monochrome cuff, available in 3 different colours. I love these ones, there’s something ethnic about the pattern, I can’t quite put my finger on it but it’s lovely. The layered perspex make for a really bold, statement piece. In particular, the yellow one is my favourite…

Hopefully with this close up, you'll see the layered detail on the perspex. If you're going to go bold, you might as well go bright - and can you see what I mean about the ethnic pattern? There's something sort of Indian about it, in the way that many 70s patterns reminds me of Indian designs too. Maybe it's just me though!

Hopefully with this close up, you’ll see the layered detail on the perspex. If you’re going to go bold, you might as well go bright – and can you see what I mean about the ethnic pattern? There’s something sort of Indian about it, in the way that many 70s patterns reminds me of Indian designs too. Maybe it’s just me though!

All of these images are taken from Galibardy’s website.

Leave a Reply

