Red Carpet Watch: The Jameson Empire Awards 2013

So, I’ve finally got around to doing another RCW. They have to be fairly specific now. But just wait until my most anticipated films of the year come out. The Jameson Empire Awards were held last night and these awards are all voted for by Empire readers (lots of love for Skyfall) so they don’t necessarily follow the Oscars path. And there were a mix of fashions on show – here are a smattering.

Daniel Radcliffe wearing Spencer Hart.

Daniel Radcliffe wearing Spencer Hart. Very dapper. Radcliffe has frequently worn great suits to red carpet events (a conscious comparison to Harry Potter?) and this is no exception. Especially as he was accepting an award: Empire Hero Award.

Ellie Goulding.

Ellie Goulding. I’m not sure how I feel about this dress. I like the shape but the material seems…off somehow. Maybe its the effect the lights have on the knitted rib. And I don’t like the shoes. But that seems almost irrelevant to mention considering how picky I am about shoes.

Sam Claflin and Laura Haddock.

Sam Claflin and Laura Haddock. I really want to like Claflin’s suit…but it’s too shiny for my taste. I like the check, I like the fit. The shirt has a great slim collar that works for him, the tie has a perfect colour accent to brighten it. And he has a pocket square and a tie bar. I think I can probably let the suit shine off. (But what’s with the shoes?) I love Haddock’s dress. It looks like it shouldn’t work, what with the satin, the chiffon, the flounces, the sheer midriff…but I still like it. And I love the colour.

Joanne Froggatt.

Joanne Froggatt. I’m not quite sure why, but I love this. Maybe I’d love it more with a less fussy shirt? Less of a pattern or something a little sexier…but the skirt is fairly short so maybe Froggatt’s playing it perfectly. The jacket is made by its contrasting buttons and uneven front.

Jodie Whittaker.

Jodie Whittaker. 1) It’s all a bit matchy matchy for me. (Dress, nails, shoes.) 2) I’m pretty sure I had shoes like that about 4 years ago from New Look. Not good memories. 3) The fabric is nowhere near nice enough to pull off such a simple shape.

Mark Strong and Martin Freeman.

Mark Strong and Martin Freeman. Strong looks amazing. Loving the thin lapels and tie, short slim collar and the angled jetted pockets. Then there’s Freeman. Not many men are brave enough to pull off a green suit worn with an orangey red shirt and a patterned pocket square. This is definitely not Dr John Watson. I think I approve. I’m not sure. I applaud the bravery though.

Tom Hiddleston.

Tom Hiddleston. There is a collar pin. Collar pins may be my new favourite thing. Then there’s the slim cut (of course) suit. A fairly plain check in what looks like a charcoal grey, paired with a light grey tie. And I think it’s a knitted tie – I can’t really tell – but as I love knitted ties, that’s what I’m gonna say.

Douglas Booth.

Douglas Booth. He always seems to look well-dressed in a very laidback way. I can’t fault it but it would be nice to see something more interesting.

Jenna Louise-Coleman.

Jenna Louise-Coleman. I love this. Monochrome, Lace. But in a sexy, punky way. This gives me high hopes for Doctor Who. (Yes, this statement makes no sense. I’m aware of that.)

Helen Mirren.

Helen Mirren. I like the dress but it’s nothing too exciting. I’m glad the pink hair is gone or at least fading fast though.

S x

Leave a Reply

