Style Icon: Cate Blanchett

I’m not particularly good at these things, but she dresses so lovely I just had to!

I adore Cate Blanchett. She’s a fantastic actress, down to earth and with her ethereal looks she’s absolutely stunning, and what’s more, her red carpet style ain’t too shabby either. Here are some of my favourites:

cate blanchettWearing Armani Privé at the Cannes Film Festival in 2008. I love the ruffles, they’re very elegant, although the colour almost washes her out. Still, it’s a very bold choice and I like it.

Cate Blanchett hobbit premiereWearing Antonio Berardi at The Hobbit premiere in New Zealand in 2012. Great colours, and I like the simple style of it and how it follows her shape. And her hair slide looks very sophisticated without looking childish.

cate blanchett golden globesWearing Jean Paul Gaultier at The Golden Globes in 2005. Gorgeous dress, and the colour suits her. I also like her relaxed and playful hair, I believe it’s called ‘tousled’. And I like the train too, very appropriate for such a prestigious event.

cate blanchett oscars 2005In Valentino at the Oscars in 2005. Another great dress in a beautiful colour. I like how the belt of the dress matches her clutch, and her red lipstick makes a bold contrast. She looks every inch the screen siren.

cate blanchett versaceWearing Versace at the LA premiere of The Good German in 2006. This dress has a very futuristic feel to it that I quite like. Her hair may have looked better in an updo, but she’s still working the style she has it in here.

83rd Annual Academy Awards - ArrivalsWearing Givenchy at the Oscars in 2011. This has to be one of my favourite looks of hers. It’s so unusual, especially the circular shape at the front and the square sleeves, makes me think of a portrait. I also love the detailing that creeps outwards from the centre. Her hair is lovely too.

Cate Banchett 2Wearing Armani Privé at the AACTA Awards in Australia in 2013. Again, another unusual dress that she pulls off effortlessly. Such a lovely striking shade of red, and she’s kept her shoes and accessories very simple so that the focus is on the dress.

Cate Blanchett Met BallWearing Alexander McQueen at the New York Met Ball in 2012. Another favourite. The phrase ‘Black Swan’ comes to mind with this dress. It’s very dark and dramatic. And her hair has just been put back into a ponytail, which has a risk of looking casual, but for some reason I think it works perfectly with this dress.

cate blanchett wofIn Armani Privé receiving her star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in 2008. I quite like the whole women in suits/androgynous look and here she’s put her own spin on it. The white trousers (which could have been a bit tighter) keep everything playful but the killer heels (which I love) still show she means business. And she certainly does – she’s got her own star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame!

cate blanchett oscars 2007In Armani Privé at the Oscars in 2007. Yet another favourite. I love the shimmering space-agey silver colour. I’m not sure what’s going on at the bottom, some sort of beaded detail I think, but I like it, it adds texture and interest to the simple column dress, as does the one shoulder strap. All of this (plus the cuff) makes it a very ‘tough chick’ look.

Hannah

Leave a Reply

