Superhero Saturday: ‘Being Human’

Tomorrow night marks the final episode of Being Human. So I thought what better Superhero Saturday post? The show started back in 2008 and a US remake started in 2011. We’re on Series 5 of the show, and the final episode will be its 36th episode (ignoring the pilot). The US version is already on episode 34, with at least 5 additional episodes.

But back to the original. What is Being Human about? In a nutshell? A vampire, werewolf and a ghost living together and learning about ‘being human’. (Get it? Clever, right.) The first series had Mitchell, George and Annie, but by series five we’ve got Hal, Tom and Alex. Cast members left due to other jobs (notably The Hobbit for Aidan Turner) or personal reasons… This can be risky when an entire cast has changed by the end of the series but generally I think it’s worked out. Because there was a gradual change rather than a Skins style complete change (I’ve never watched Skins but I know they had complete cast changes…).

Aidan Turner as Mitchell, Russell Tovey as George and Lenora Crichlow as Annie.

Aidan Turner as Mitchell, Russell Tovey as George and Lenora Crichlow as Annie.

So why do I like the show? Did you miss my obscenely geeky post about Buffy? I didn’t actually watch the first series when it aired but following recommendations from a friend I caught up before the second series. Then I was hooked. Turner may or may not have been responsible for that. I even got my housemate hooked by the start of series 3. Possibly for the same reason. We had quite dramatic reactions to the finale of series 3 but I won’t say anymore for fear of spoiling. (Hannah’s started watching but totally out of order so I don’t think she’s seen the beginning of the show!)

Michael Socha as Tom, Kate Bracken as Alex and Damien Molony as Hal.

Michael Socha as Tom, Kate Bracken as Alex and Damien Molony as Hal.

The best aspects of the show are the relationships between the leads. Of course. Generally that’s what gets you to watch a show. But I also love the distinct differences between all the characters – especially between the two ‘disparate’ casts. Mitchell and Hal are noticeably different (but Hal is a suitable *cough* hot *cough* replacement), as are George and Tom and Annie and Alex. This means that you never feel like the original characters were just re-cast in a Neighbours style.

So, as the show is ending, I just want to express my enjoyment of the show and encourage anyone who hasn’t seen it to catch up! There aren’t many episodes so it isn’t like my massive The West Wing catch up. You can do it!

Here’s the best promo for the first episode I could find (it’s not great so I apologise):

S x

Leave a Reply

