Saw This And Thought It Was Cool

Everyone knows I’m majorly excited about The Great Gatsby (2013) right? It’s one of my favourite books and, as luck would have it, is our book this month for book club. (Waterstone’s Croydon if anyone is interested.) Because of this, and the recent costume design developments (1 and 2), the book has been in my head. As has all the new releases/old releases of Gatsby related items so I thought I’d share a range with you:

The soundtrack to The Great Gatsby (1974). In vinyl.

The soundtrack to The Great Gatsby (1974). In vinyl. This is available either on ebay, from second-hand vinyl shops or through amazon sellers. Take your pic. Although I didn’t love the Clayton film, the music is great. And what better to get you in the mood of the twenties?

The Great Gatsby cover t-shirt from truffleshuffle.

The Great Gatsby cover t-shirt from truffleshuffle. Any t-shirt that is to do with The Great Gatsby is a-ok by me.

The Great Gatsby t-shirt from truffleshuffle.

The Great Gatsby t-shirt from truffleshuffle. This is my favourite of the two t-shirts. I love the text font and the bright colours used in the illustration behind. Beautiful.

The Great Gatsby. On a poster.

The Great Gatsby. On a poster. Who wouldn’t want this on their wall? My problem is that I’d get distracted by it whenever I walked past. I’d never get anything done…(cos I’m so busy normally). (Scarlet & Jones.)

A new hardback version of The Great Gatsby.

A new hardback version of The Great Gatsby. I’m a sucker for re-released book covers. I already have four copies of The Great Gatsby. But you know I’ll be buying this one too. I’m not sure if I love it more than this one. I can’t decide. They’re both so perfectly Deco.

I found this by browsing through waterstones website.

I found this by browsing through waterstones website. Look at that cover! After minimal research, I think it’s the original The Great Gatsby text with a new pulpy cover. I’m sold. Easily better than another release of The Great Gatsby – as an erotic novel… Thanks 50 Shades. Thanks a lot.

Careless People: Murder, Mayhem and the Invention of The Great Gatsby. I found this months ago. Already on my pre-order list. Plus the cover is pretty cool. I'm easily persuaded.

Careless People: Murder, Mayhem and the Invention of The Great Gatsby by Sarah Churchwell. I found this months ago. Already on my pre-order list. Plus the cover is pretty cool. I’m easily persuaded. (It’s available earlier and cheaper on Kindle. As much as I love my Kindle there’s no way I’m not owning a hard copy of this book.)

Any you’re interested in? I’m pretty sure I want everything.

S x

Leave a Reply

