Red Carpet Watch: Premiere Catch-Up of ‘Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters’

(I’m sorry for the extreme lateness of this post but I’m combining premieres so that lets me off…right?)

I’m not sure what to make of Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters (2013). It could be great, schlocky fun or it could be mind-numbingly horrible. Those are pretty much the two options. But…it has Renner. If we can forgive The Bourne Legacy (2012), we can probably forgive a lot.

Mexico premiere:

Gemma Arterton wearing and Jeremy Renner wearing Hugo Boss.

Gemma Arterton wearing Nina Ricci and Jeremy Renner wearing Hugo Boss. I want to like Arterton’s dress – I love polka dots. But it looks like she’s wearing 50s style underwear and has loosely draped fabric around her leading to some…unflattering gathers. And I don’t really like Renner’s suit either. It’s too “shiny” for my taste. I like the tie and shirt, I like that the suit is in grey, and I really like the details on the lapels. But the cloth of the suit? No thank you.

Los Angeles premiere:

Cast and director of 'Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters'. (Peter Stormare, Famke Janssen, Pihla Viitala, Jeremy Renner, Gemma Arterton, Tommy Wirkola and Zoe Bell.)

Cast and director of ‘Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters’. (Peter Stormare, Famke Janssen, Pihla Viitala, Jeremy Renner, Gemma Arterton, Tommy Wirkola and Zoe Bell.)

Jeremy Renner wearing

Jeremy Renner. I much prefer this suit. Blue? Approve. Nice lapel width – and lapel cloth transferred to top pocket. The suit itself has a great texture that unfortunately leads to a bit of strobing under the camera but I really like this one.

Gemma Arterton wearing Gucci

Gemma Arterton wearing Gucci. I like the draping, the overall style but the halter neck, to me, seems to widen her at the top too much. Especially because the straps are from the very edge of the bodice. Maybe I’m being picky because I’m particularly conscious of halter necks doing that to me… Maybe my eyes just tell me that.

Famke Janssen wearing

Famke Janssen wearing Temperley London. I didn’t like this dress at the beginning, apart from the green. That’s a great shade of green. But the more I look at it, the more I like it. It very much reminds me of Keira Knightley’s dress in Atonement (2007). As does the overall drape-y, 30s feel of it. Probably the main reason I like it. I’m a sucker for that film.

Sydney premiere:

Jeremy Renner wearing Vivienne Westwood Man.

Jeremy Renner wearing Vivienne Westwood Man. My absolute favourite. Three-piece. Grey (not black). Great tie. Amazing scarf. If you look at the suit cuff you can see a flash of bright blue/turquoise lining. I love that. And also check out the shawl lapels. Pretty unusual in their width. I just adore this suit. All is forgiven Renner.

Gemma Arterton wearing Erdem.

Gemma Arterton wearing Erdem. Beautiful, beautiful, want, want. I was a little dubious of this to begin with – just because of the fit. Not the pattern. It’s Erdem – of course the pattern is beautiful. But I’ve been convinced through further photo viewing. And now I’m jealous.

Berlin premiere:

Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arterton wearing Miu Miu.

Jeremy Renner and Gemma Arterton wearing Miu Miu. Another three-piece suit. Bravo. Again, not black. Not so keen on the tie but the whole outfit works. Just doesn’t top the Sydney suit. I have the same kind of feelings towards Arterton’s dress. It’s really nice, she looks great, but it doesn’t beat that Erdem dress. It’s a safe option but has a really interesting print.

S x

Leave a Reply

