Red Carpet Watch: ‘Oz The Great And Powerful’ LA Premiere

Trying to stay on target. The premiere for Oz the Great and Powerful (2013) took place in LA yesterday. Should I be ashamed to say I’m looking forward to it? I’m a little worried that it looks a bit too similar to Alice in Wonderland (2010). Which I hated. But I remain optimistic. For a change. But now is all about the fashion. And check out the yellow brick road for the red carpet.

Rachel Weisz wearing Victoria Beckham.

Rachel Weisz wearing Victoria Beckham. I like the orange tone of the dress – it’s not that common on the red carpet. Maybe it is just more suitable for a yellow carpet. The dress is very fitted and clings everywhere. Apart from the fit of the dress, it is pretty covered up and “demure” apart from the little cut out. And in case you missed it, it’s highlighted. You can’t see from this picture but the back of the dress has a visible open-ended zip. I’m going through a phase of liking visible zips so this dress comes at the perfect time. The fact that the zip is open-ended adds another level of daring to the dress. Open-ended from top to hem.

James Franco wearing Gucci.

James Franco wearing Gucci. I’m undecided over this suit. I like the idea of it. The brown suit with blue tartan checks, matched with the blue tie. But…it looks a little boxy to me. I don’t know whether it’s just a bit too wide, whether it’s that the lapels are made from the same cloth as the suit, maybe it’s the way he’s standing. I don’t know. But I really want to like it!

Mila Kunis wearing Dolce & Gabbana.

Mila Kunis wearing Dolce & Gabbana. This dress is beautiful. Another example of 50s inspired D&G, like at the ELLE Style Awards. The lace is very elegant and the tone of the dress reminds me of Kunis’ wonderful dress at the Oscars a few years ago. (I’m fully aware that they’re not the same colour, it’s the subdued tone that reminds me.) It’s very much a princess dress and worn very simply. The only obvious accessories are the massive earrings – I like the touch of big earrings to combat the slight girly aspect of the dress. Bring a little Elizabeth Taylor in there.

Michelle Williams wearing Prada.

Michelle Williams wearing Prada. This is a beautiful and very understated dress. That is, until you see the right side of it. Very daring, and yet Williams somehow makes it perfectly acceptable. It doesn’t seem over the top. Probably due to the nature of the rest of the dress. And the nature of her underwear. It also makes a nice change from the usual 60s inspired minidresses she favours – they look great but everyone likes to mix it up in a while!

S x

Leave a Reply

