Red Carpet Watch: Further ‘Les Miserables’ Premieres

So Lis Miserables (2012) is just one of the films that is all over the award season. And yet in some countries it only had its premiere a few days/weeks ago. So now, super late, I give you the premieres in Paris and at the Berlin Film Festival.

Paris premiere:

Eddie Redmayne wearing Topman.

Eddie Redmayne wearing Topman. Amazing suit. And it’s from Topman. Proof that high street shops can do great suits – as long as they fit you properly! I love everything about the suit. The brown tweedy cloth. The shirt. The tie – reflecting the texture of the suit cloth. The pocket square! I’ve missed pocket squares. And the blue silk used works so well with the light blue shirt and I love the pattern on it. Redmayne never lets down.

Anne Hathaway wearing Prada.

Anne Hathaway wearing Prada. I don’t hate it. I don’t love it. I’m a bit indifferent to it. I like the shape and the colour….but I don’t like the studs (?) at the top or the fabric for the dress. It reminds me too much of school girl makes (mostly mine).

Berlin Film Festival:

Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway and Eddie Redmayne wearing Alexander McQueen.

Hugh Jackman, Anne Hathaway and Eddie Redmayne wearing Alexander McQueen. This is more like it. I like to imagine that they all decided to co-ordinate their outfits. Unlikely. Jackman’s suit seems to be not quite black, as if it’s a very dark navy blue. And then it’s paired with a blue-y grey shirt and a black (navy blue?) tie. All vey good. Apart from the lack of shirt cuff visible and the bottom of the trousers…they don’t appear to be hanging properly. It looks like he’s wearing boots so this might be the reason for the altered hang. It’s okay though, Redmayne is picking up the slack. Herringbone tie. Love a herringbone print. Quite bright blue suit – brave. I approve. Crisp lapels. Perfect. And a one-buttoned suit rather than two. Daring. This Redmayne is just a fashion risk taker. I love it.

Anne Hathaway wearing Chanel Couture.

Anne Hathaway wearing Chanel Couture. I’m pretty sure I like this dress. It’s odd. If it weren’t for the weird train it wouldn’t be odd. But that train takes the dress to strange places. And I’m not sure that I don’t love it for that reason. The gathering of fabric is really nice and the embroidery strips add interest and help to shape the dress at the best places.

Amanda Seyfried wearing Nina Ricci.

Amanda Seyfried wearing Nina Ricci. I really don’t like this. I don’t even want to write about it. It’s just…horrible.

S x

Leave a Reply

