Red Carpet Watch: The ELLE Style Awards

I’ve been stuck in a world without internet for nearly three weeks so I apologise for my absence. But here we go. There are so many red carpet events around this time but my next “feature” is on the ELLE Style Awards. These took place on 11th February, so that’s one day after the BAFTAs. Yep, it’s a late post but I had no internet!

Andrea Riseborough wearing Matthew Williamson.

Andrea Riseborough wearing Matthew Williamson. I really like this dress. In the past I’ve had issues with too much going on but I enjoy the lace and feathers here. Maybe it’s the grey tone that makes it less obtrusive. Also, the dress itself isn’t risque – the neckline isn’t too low, it’s mid-length and it has elbow-length sleeves. This all helps to stop it looking like a Cher Vegas costume. I don’t like the shoes though.

Stella McCartney wearing Stella McCartney.

Stella McCartney wearing Stella McCartney. Structure from McCartney? Whoda thought it? 😉 Fashion joke but it’s true. However, she’s great at that stuff. Great tailored trousers and I love the embroidery on the cape. I made a cape for Little Red Riding Hood for ‘Into the Woods‘ last year and still have it. Haven’t worn it yet but when it gets a bit warmer…

Sam Claflin and Laura Haddock.

Sam Claflin and Laura Haddock. It’s really hard to appreciate a black shirt and black suit from photos – unless there’s a more noticeable alteration between the two blacks. I’m not sure how I feel about Claflin’s suit. The suit itself is nice but I think I have issues with the shirt and overall lack of colour. Apart from in his hair. I presume he’s growing out his Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013) hair. I think he should just cut it. I can’t see much of Haddock’s dress but from this angle I like it. The drape and colour are nice and it’s very classic – reminds me of Calvin Klein or Stella McCartney, even if it isn’t either designer. Also, it might be a jumpsuit. Wide legged. I would like it more if that’s the case. Update: jumpsuit proof here.

Alice Eve.

Alice Eve. I really dislike all of this. I wanted to like the shoes. Maybe if they weren’t two sizes too big. (Look at her left foot – practically coming out of the heel. That’s not safe.) The dress just does nothing for me, or for Eve, and she looks like she’s standing strangely. None of it is helping her.

Rosamund Pike wearing Tom Ford.

Rosamund Pike wearing Tom Ford. Love. All of it. Beautiful jacket with wide shoulders – but doesn’t feel 80s/Dynasty. I love big shoulders. It comes from my love of the 40s. And the skinny trousers even out the shoulders. Plus there’s a silk band at the top and possibly down the sides – further mens tuxedo influence. And check out those killer heels. She was a Bond girl let’s not forget. (But let’s all forget Die Another Day (2002). Tom Ford knows what he’s doing. Obviously.

Kit Harington.

Kit Harington. I really like Harington’s suit. It’s a nice change from black at a red carpet event. And the bright blue buttonhole on the lapel is amazing. Sherlock influence anyone? (Yes, it’s not just from Sherlock but any excuse right?) The blue is a perfect shade for the grey and I just love it. Also, that tie. I really like it. Really like it. And I want to know who the suit is made by!

Elizabeth Olson wearing Christopher Kane.

Elizabeth Olson wearing Christopher Kane. At first glance this outfit might not seem to be great. I disagree. I love it. It’s something I would wear. Probably not to a red carpet event but that’s what I like about it. Olson’s got enough confidence to wear what she wants where she wants. And it’s freezing in the UK. She’s really got the best sense of everyone.

Alicia Vikander wearing Louis Vuitton.

Alicia Vikander wearing Louis Vuitton. This dress is from Louis Vuitton’s current ad campaign. Beyond that, I’m a little torn. I like the idea of it, but I just like it. Half-heartedly. That says more about me than the dress though.

Daisy Lowe wearing Dolce & Gabbana.

Daisy Lowe wearing Dolce & Gabbana. I love this dress. Just love it. Thank you D&G for bringing the 50s back.

Chris Tucker.

Chris Tucker. I like the suit but…the lapels just seem a bit too big to me. That might be just because I gravitate towards thinner lapels I don’t know. They seem to widen him too much. Maybe it would be better if the jacket was done up? Just me being picky? I love the navy blue shade of the suit though.

Juno Temple wearing McQ byAlexander McQueen.

Juno Temple wearing McQ byAlexander McQueen. This one confuses me. I like all the aspects of it. Just not together. The jacket with the trousers are just a bit too military for me. Maybe if she’d worn a less structured skirt with those boots? Add some variety? And then those trousers with super high court shoes? That’s probably what I would have done.

Chloe Moretz wearing Stella McCartney.

Chloe Moretz wearing Stella McCartney. Same as Vikander’s dress. I like it, I don’t love it. But I definitely like this dress more than Vikander’s.

Kate Hudson wearing Stella McCartney.

Kate Hudson wearing Stella McCartney. It’s a red dress. I should be all over it. But…it’s no knockout for me. After Hudson’s stunning Golden Globes dress this feels like a disappointment to me.

Naomi Harris wearing Roksanda Ilincic.

Naomi Harris wearing Roksanda Ilincic. I love this. The shade of orange is interesting, especially when combined with the flash of candy pink at the back. We need some more colour! I even like the shoes, even though they appear to be a bit too big? Or just a bad camera angle? (I don’t know why I’m fussing, none of my shoes fit me properly.)

Bradley Cooper wearing Vivienne Westwood Man.

Bradley Cooper wearing Vivienne Westwood Man. Colour! We love colour. And Cooper. But two niggles: one – where are your shirt cuffs? two – you are close to tripping over your trouser hems. Minor quibbles I grant you.

Samantha Barks wearing Celia Kritharioti.

Samantha Barks wearing Celia Kritharioti. I love this dress. Daisy Lowe’s D&G confirmed that I love the 50s silhouette and here it is in olive green velvet. It is just heavenly. I even like the odd neck strap. I don’t think I could cope with it – stuff at my neck makes me weirdly uncomfortable. But I think if I could wear this dress I’d put up with it. Martyr.

S x

One thought on “Red Carpet Watch: The ELLE Style Awards

  1. Pingback: Red Carpet Watch: ‘Oz The Great And Powerful’ LA Premiere « Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

Leave a Reply

