Style Icon: Emily Blunt

There is definite mixed feelings among the blog about Emily Blunt. I like her. (Correction: limited mixed feelings but not overall love. She’s no Scarlett for us.) And I also love some of her red carpet choices so, after a little gap, I’m going to do that again. These are in no particular order. That would’ve involved too much thought for me. (Also, I started “working” on this in the beginning of January, but I did red carpet searching before then…)

Wearing Azzaro at the Critics Choice Awards in 2011.

Wearing Azzaro at the Critics’ Choice Awards in January 2011. I love everything about this dress. The mixture of textures with the embroidery, velvet and satin is really well done. It could have looked over the top but I think it really works. The dress is very fitted but covered up apart from the little sections of exposed flesh at the waist. It remains classy.

Wearing George Chakra at the Critics Choice Movie Awards 2010.

Wearing George Chakra at the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards in January 2010. It looks like the 20s. The Art Deco sequin patterns at the skirt.  The bodice section of the dress remains modern with its embroidery. That’s what makes this dress so great – mixing modernity with a vintage feel. I’m in love. But not with the shoes. Not at all.

Wearing Elie Saab at Elie Saab's private dinner in 2012.

Wearing Elie Saab at Elie Saab’s private dinner in April 2012. Red lips and nails. Score. Also, I actually really like yellow and I have a cardigan that is pretty much this colour (and was told that the colour suited me by a costume designer so I’m not going to complain). I think I have similar colourings to Blunt so maybe that’s why I’m drawn to this dress so much. And also, I think it’s grown up without being staid. Perfect for a tea party or elegant but understated night out. I want it.

Wearing Christian Dior at the 2010 Emmys.

Wearing Christian Dior at the August 2010 Emmys. I’m not overly in love with this dress like I am with some others but it’s very perdy. The colour and the drape of the chiffon. And look at Krasinski – he makes it better too.

Wearing Elie Saab Couture at the 2011 Emmys.

Wearing Elie Saab Couture at the September 2011 Emmys. I love this dress. It’s quite a change for Blunt and it really works. The navy blue is great, the slightly daring neckline, the embroidery. She done good.

Wearing Jason Wu at 'The Five Year Engagement' premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival.

Wearing Jason Wu at ‘The Five Year Engagement’ premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival in April 2012. I’m still not sure if I like this dress. I think I like the coordination between the green shoes and the green embroidery. I think. She looks great but I think I’m still a little undecided over this dress.

Wearing Dolce & Gabbana at the 2010 Golden Globes.

Wearing Dolce & Gabbana at the January 2010 Golden Globes. This is another pretty dress rather than daring. The soft pink, the soft draping of the chiffon, all very soft. That’s not necessarily a bad thing it’s just all a little safe.

Wearing Caroline Herrera at the London premiere of 'Salmon Fishing in the Yemen' in 2012.

Wearing Caroline Herrera at the London premiere of ‘Salmon Fishing in the Yemen’ in April 2012. The Daily Mail (of course) were very critical of this dress – particularly the jacket that fastens at the back. I really like it. I think the different stripes with some diagonal lines added and sheer net and beading is really interesting. It’s a riskier choice for Blunt and it’s at film premieres rather than big awards ceremonies that she seems to take these risks.

Wearing Christian Cota at the 'Salmon Fishing in the Yemen' Tribeca Film Festival after-party in 2012.

Wearing Christian Cota at the ‘Salmon Fishing in the Yemen’ Tribeca Film Festival after-party in September 2011. I love jumpsuits. On other people. I’ve never found one that works on me. It’s the androgyny of it that I like and at first glance this looks like a tuxedo – or at least a waistcoat and black trousers. Then there’s the slightly plunging neckline and the sequins. Always add sequins.

Wearing Michael Kors at the 'Your Sister's Sister' Tribeca Film Festival premiere in 2012.

Wearing Michael Kors at the ‘Your Sister’s Sister’ Tribeca Film Festival premiere in April 2012. It’s a red dress. Do I really need to say more? This is me.

Wearing Vivienne Westwood at the world premiere of 'The Young Victoria' in March 2009.

Wearing Vivienne Westwood at the world premiere of ‘The Young Victoria’ in March 2009. Westwood knows how to drape a body. Even if Blunt isn’t as ‘curvy’ as Christina Hendricks, this dress makes you think she is. That bodice just hugs and pulls in to create the beginnings of a perfect hourgass. And the print and fabric is also beautiful.

Wearing Georges Chakra at amfAR's Cinema Against AIDS Benefit in May 2010.

Wearing Georges Chakra at amfAR’s Cinema Against AIDS Benefit in May 2010. More red. This is better than the red lace dress. And I think she just looks amazing.

Wearing Roland Mouret at the premiere of 'Looper' at the Toronto Film Festival in September 2012.

Wearing Roland Mouret at the premiere of ‘Looper’ at the Toronto Film Festival in September 2012. Less of a pillar box red but I maintain that it is still red! And it’s Roland Mouret. That man is a genius. She looks incredible in this dress.

S x

Leave a Reply

