Red Carpet Watch: The 70th Golden Globe Awards

Awards season is upon us. We’ve had the nominations (I’m still waiting on the Costume Designer’s Guild nominations but sadly that’s not a “priority” for the masses) and now the ceremonies start. Best part of these? The fashion. Obviously. It also makes even the most forgiving viewing very bitchy and spiteful towards these people. Seriously. I’ve only sat through one American award show live (timing reasons and such) and I got progressively angry at suits and dresses. For no reason. Now to start this honestly, I didn’t watch any of the Golden Globes live last night. I was asleep – that’s just how I roll *cough* pensioner at heart *cough*. So this combination of, mostly good, fashion has been through internet scouring this morning. I haven’t done a best and worst because there weren’t too many horrendous dresses, more just some I preferred to others. And I’m mostly including those I liked. But be warned, there’s a lot! Oh, and there’s no order. That takes too much patience and brain ordering. Sorry.

Leonardo DiCaprio wearing Tom Ford.

Leonardo DiCaprio wearing Tom Ford. Everyone should know by now that Tom Ford suits are impeccable. DiCaprio looks very smart if a little laid back. The bow tie is a move in the right direction but there is so much black of similar tones in the suit (no satin lapels) that a touch of…something…like a white pocket square (I know! I know!) might have just helped to break the suit up a bit. Saying about the lack of satin lapels, I actually like these ones!

Julianne Moore wearing Tom Ford.

Julianne Moore wearing Tom Ford. More Tom Ford. Moore tends to wear Ford a lot and why not? She looked incredible in ‘A Single Man’ and she looks amazing here. This kind of dress always works for her. So much so that when she gets the red carpet ‘right’ she seems to get overlooked. She shouldn’t. She looks beautiful.

Ryan Seacrest and Julianne Hough, wearing Monique Lhuilier.

Ryan Seacrest and Julianne Hough, wearing Monique Lhuilier. Part of me thinks I shouldn’t like Seacrest’s suit but…it’s a three-piece. It’s grey (nice change from black), he’s got a pocket square and there’s some nice black detailing, particularly on the lapels. Plus, he’s got a bow tie and it’s a great fit. I have the same issue with Hough’s dress – I feel like I shouldn’t like it. But… I kinda love it. It’s not my favourite of the night but it’s in my top.

Kristen Bell wearing Jenny Packham.

Kristen Bell wearing Jenny Packham. Bell looks beautiful. I have a soft spot for Bell due to ‘Veronica Mars’ anyway so I’m probably biased towards her anyway but this dress is just great. It can be hard to dress up when you’re pregnant (I just remember some of Kate Hudson’s hideous maternity wear) but this dress does it right. The embroidery at the bodice draws the eye away from her bump and there is just enough shaping of the embroidery to allow for as much ‘bump room’ and flowing fabric as possible. One of my favourites…I’ll figure out some numbers at the bottom.

Jennifer Lawrence wearing Christian Dior Haute Couture.

Jennifer Lawrence wearing Christian Dior Haute Couture. Did everyone know that I love Lawrence? And this dress is growing on me. I like that it’s red (of course) but against the red carpet the tones are a little jarring to the eye at first. But the shade of red looks great on her and the fifties fit is super flattering and I’m jealous.

Helen Mirren wearing Badgley Mischka.

Helen Mirren wearing Badgley Mischka. This is how to dress. Mirren is schooling the younguns on style, elegance and class. It’s sexy but demure and could not be worn any better. Bravo Mirren.

Amanda Seyfried wearing Givenchy.

Amanda Seyfried wearing Givenchy. I’m of two minds about this dress. I like the lace, but as Seyfried is so pale and with her long blonde hair, a lot of the detailing is sort of lost. If the dress was in a slightly darker tone you might be able to pick up more of the beautiful craftsmanship. I still like it though. I think.

Helen McCrory and Damian Lewis.

Helen McCrory and Damian Lewis. Lewis, Lewis, Lewis. Well done. You won a Golden Globe and you looked great doing it. Slim-fit suit, correct amount of shirt cuff showing, pocket square, great fit, lovely lapels, wonderful wife. Sold.

Jessica Chastain wearing Calvin Klein.

Jessica Chastain wearing Calvin Klein. I really want to like this because I do love Chastain but…it doesn’t quite work for me. I think it’s something to do with the neckline. The shape is great from the waist down but…the top doesn’t sit right for me.

Kate Hudson wearing Alexander McQueen.

Kate Hudson wearing Alexander McQueen. I LOVE this. I don’t always like things that Hudson wears but this is genius. I mean, it’s Alexander McQueen so that doesn’t really need saying. But it is a wonderfully grown up look for her, but because of the large keyhole neckline and clinging fabric it still feels youthful and sexy.

Ben Affleck.

Ben Affleck. Blue suit. Check. Three-piece. Check. Odd fake leather looking detailing? Ummm. Not sure. I like that it is consistent throughout the suit: lapels, buttons, pocket welts, trouser pockets but it doesn’t quite work for me. This upsets me more than I’d like. But congrats on ‘Argo’ – great film! And the suit colour is the best yet!

Isla Fisher wearing Reem Acra.

Isla Fisher wearing Reem Acra. I have been critical of Fisher’s red carpet choices recently (they’ve been horrific so I think I’m justified…) but this is great. THe embroidery is beautiful, the cut is great for her. As she’s quite short having a long dress over, what I presume to be towering heels, makes her seem taller. It’s that word statuesque that I love so much. Fits.

Emily Blunt wearing Michael Kors.

Emily Blunt wearing Michael Kors. Oh, Blunt you’ve been dressing so well recently and then you just up the scales! Lacy, beautiful tone for her, the cut outs at the waist make me envious of her, the fit of the dress is wonderful and the flare at the base is brilliant. I think I’m in love.

Bradley Cooper.

Bradley Cooper. Before I saw Cooper’s suit I saw a tweet from Clothes on Film: “If Bradley Cooper wanted such wide lapels he should have gone for a bigger bow tie #goldenglobes”. So I know this will sound like ridiculous fawning, but he’s right. Look at the picture again and tell me that it doesn’t look like Cooper’s bow tie shrunk and no-one had the heart to tell him. Try. (The rest of the suit looks great though – and it looks like he has shirt studs <3.)

Anne Hathaway wearing Chanel Couture.

Anne Hathaway wearing Chanel Couture. Hathaway seems to be choosing simple cut dresses recently. I think this is the best I’ve seen – she looks great but it’s a bit safe? Just me? Picky?

Hugh Jackman wearing Louis Vuitton.

Hugh Jackman wearing Louis Vuitton. Jackman. You wonderful man. I think even Helen would forgive you your beard. And all I’m going to say about your suit is: LOVE. (But would it have killed you to have a pocket square?)

Sienna Miller wearing Erdem.

Sienna Miller wearing Erdem. Erdem makes beautiful flowery dresses and this is no exception. The cut is fairly simple to allow the flowers to “talk” for themselves. It’s probably not one of my absolute favourites but I still really like it.

Katharine McPhee wearing Theyskens Theory.

Katharine McPhee wearing Theyskens Theory. THis dress is very simple but it reminds me of a tuxedo a little bit (I’m all about tuxedos) and that makes me like it. I HATE the shoes though. HATE.

Naomi Watts wearing Zac Posen.

Naomi Watts wearing Zac Posen. Ok, I’m saying it – my favourite dress. It’s red. It flows. It has detailing. It has a train. It’s elegant. It is perfectly accessorised, I want it.

Helen Hunt wearing Dolce and Gabbana.

Helen Hunt wearing Dolce and Gabbana. I don’t love this as much as Hunt’s Critic’s Choice dress but it’s still a great choice for her. I can’t really criticise it…well, maybe the beaded stripe effect is a little overdone…but I can’t rave about it.

Daniel Craig, wearing Tom Ford, and Rachel Weisz, wearing Louis Vuitton.

Daniel Craig, wearing Tom Ford, and Rachel Weisz, wearing Louis Vuitton. Someone needs to tell Craig that he’s not being James Bond at the moment. Wearing a Tom Ford suit must have confused him. Amazing suit though. So I’ll let that slide. (Tom Ford = amazing.) The more I look at Weisz’s dress the more I like it. And I really like the shoes. One thing, the polka dot underskirt looks like it might be a touch too long… Oh, and red nails are always a winner.

Jeremy Renner wearing Dior Homme.

Jeremy Renner wearing Dior Homme. Hawkeye done good. You are now officially forgiven for ‘The Bourne Legacy’ and SNL. The first shawl lapel so far and I love it. Blue suit. Bow tie, Pocket square. Stylish satin lapel.

Robert Pattinson wearing Gucci.

Robert Pattinson wearing Gucci. First actual tie. It’s a nice suit. Nothing special. Nothing particularly wrong with it. I just can’t bring myself to be enthused by it. And neither, it seems, can Pattinson.

Tina Fey wearing L'Wren Scott.

Tina Fey wearing L’Wren Scott. Sadly, I like this dress less and less the more I look at it. I really want to like it but a few things don’t quite mesh for me. The neckline…the length…the slight flare at the bottom… I really liked her show dress though!

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, wearing Saint Laurent, and Jason Statham.

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, wearing Saint Laurent, and Jason Statham. Award for ‘ok’ dressed couple. Huntington-Whiteley looks like she has a napkin pushed under her chin and looks too smug about it all. Without that ruffle I would like the dress a lot more. Statham just looks happy to be there but in an average suit. I had such hopes.

George Clooney and Stacy Keibler.

George Clooney and Stacy Keibler. This hurts me to say but…Clooney looks just ok. Not bad but not great. Maybe it’s cos the jacket’s undone? Or it’s the weird lapels? Possibly both.

Jessica Alba wearing Marchesa.

Jessica Alba wearing Marchesa. If you ignore the weird feather clutch this dress is beautiful. That silk hangs just right and hugs in all the right places. The fishtail is played out perfectly with the structure of the fabric.

Marion Cotillard wearing Christian Dior Couture.

Marion Cotillard wearing Christian Dior Couture. I made a prediction last week that the best dressed female nominees at the Oscars would be Jennifer Lawrence and Marion Cotillard. Sarah said that Cotillard can be a bit hit and miss. Sadly, here she proved Sarah right. (Not sadly that Sarah was right, just to clarify.) I don’t know what it is about the dress that doesn’t work but…I really don’t like it.

Sofia Vergara.

Sofia Vergara. This dress reminds me of old fashioned Hollywood. It’s over-the-top but somehow works and doesn’t look like it should be in Vegas. Performing on its own. Vergara seems to like wearing clinging dresses but, due to the shine from the embellishment, there is so much reflection you can barely see her “infamous curves”.

Nicole Kidman wearing Alexander McQueen.

Nicole Kidman wearing Alexander McQueen. I’m conflicted with this dress. I really like it in theory but on Kidman it…just doesn’t seem to work for me. Maybe it’s that the lace panel seems to risque for her. I’m not sure but…it looked great on the model.

Jon Hamm, wearing Dolce and Gabbana, and Jennifer Westfeld.

Jon Hamm, wearing Dolce and Gabbana, and Jennifer Westfeld. You can’t have an awards ceremony without a picture of Hamm in a suit. I think it’s a law. Like the law that prohibits him from looking bad in a suit.

Daniel Day-Lewis.

Daniel Day-Lewis. My best dressed male nominee predictions for the Oscars were Daniel Day-Lewis and Bradley Cooper. Cooper let me down a little bit, but Day-Lewis held up his bargain. Just. Another shawl lapel and nice fit if not a little…dull?

Lucy Liu wearing Caroline Herrera.

Lucy Liu wearing Caroline Herrera. I actually love this dress. Despite the fact that it looks like something Maria Von Trapp could’ve made. I also think the fact that teeny tiny Liu is wearing it makes it seem even bigger. It’s nice to have a ball gown that is more ‘gown’ than ‘ball’-y.

Helena Bonham Carter wearing Dolce and Gabbana.

Helena Bonham Carter wearing Dolce and Gabbana. Bonham Carter not wearing Vivienne Westwood is enough for inclusion in itself. It might not be one of the best but it’s another one of those cases of it being the best dress for her. Like a dark Miss Havisham (yes, I know she played Miss Havisham, that’s why I’m making the connection). With red lips and a red lips clutch.

Robert Downey Jr.

Robert Downey Jr. I love this. Shawl lapel. The jacket looks like a smoking jacket and I’m going through a phase of loving smoking jackets. He’s got a bow tie and shirt studs. This is possibly the best Downey’s looked on the “red carpet” (yes, it’s in the show).

Amy Adams wearing Marchesa.

Amy Adams wearing Marchesa. Another victory for Marchesa. And another nude tone dress. It is a very simple lace dress that makes its impact with the tulle fishtail. And Adams pulls it off perfectly.

Benedict Cumberbatch wearing Spencer Hart.

Benedict Cumberbatch wearing Spencer Hart. I’m going to allow the normal tie because this is a three-piece suit and there’s a pocket square. It’s a great suit. I love that he’s clearly wearing a double breasted waistcoat – very unusual. And Cumberbatch has got wider lapels than I would’ve guessed he’d choose. It’s nice to be wrong. UPDATE: This suit looks ridiculously similar (read: just in blue) to the suit he wore to the Vanity Fair Oscar party in 2012. Scroll down here. Am I right? Spencer Hart made that suit so it all makes perfect sense.

Michelle Dockery wearing Alexandre Vauthier.

Michelle Dockery wearing Alexandre Vauthier. I have never seen Dockery look this good. Never. This dress is an absolute winner. And look at her face – she knows it too! I’m not even going to talk about it. The dress doesn’t need it.

Zooey Deschenal wearing Oscar de la Renta.

Zooey Deschenal wearing Oscar de la Renta. This red is more of a match to the red carpet than Lawrence’s so it doesn’t jar so much. But, beyond that, I feel like I’ve seen Deschanel in this before. That’s not what you want from a red carpet appearance – deja vu.

Megan Fox wearing Dolce and Gabbana.

Megan Fox wearing Dolce and Gabbana. More nude lace. This dress is very similar to Adams’ and I’m not sure who has the edge… I think it’s Adams. But this dress is beautiful and an elegant look for Fox.

Kerry Washington wearing Miu Miu.

Kerry Washington wearing Miu Miu. I love this. Why has ‘The Great Gatsby’ still not been released yet?! The ’20s flapper shape works perfectly on Washington and the feather beading on a sheer material is perfect.

Hayden Panettiere wearing Roberto Cavalli.

Hayden Panettiere wearing Roberto Cavalli. This Cavalli dress looks great on Panettiere. This just about fits in the lacy nude pattern that seems to have gone on at the Globes this year – with slight fishtail and all. Panettiere’s dress is slightly creamier in tone though so it just about stands out from Adams’ and Fox’s dresses. The detailing that creates a visual cut out at the waist is a great touch.

Claire Danes, wearing Atelier Versace, and Hugh Dancy.

Claire Danes, wearing Atelier Versace, and Hugh Dancy. Wonderful wonderful red dress. The draping on this dress manages to be both elegant and restrained. Danes isn’t know for wearing outrageous dresses and why should she when she looks this great in a simple but effective dress? Dancy also looks great in his suit and bonus points for wearing a pocket square that isn’t white!

Amy Poehler wearing Stella McCartney.

Amy Poehler wearing Stella McCartney. I love women in tuxedos and McCartney makes them particularly well. But I don;t know why Poehler insisted on wearing those hideous shoes. Cropped trousers are perfect with court shoes or at least shoes that don’t have straps and cause too many ‘cuts’ in the leg. So close.

My Top 10 Dresses (I wanted to include more than 5!):

10. Jessica Alba in Marchesa.

9. Lucy Liu in Carolina Herrera.

8. Helen Mirren in Badgley Mischka.

7. Jennifer Lawrence in Christian Dior Haute Couture.

6. Kristen Bell in Jenny Packham.

5. Emily Blunt in Michael Kors.

4. Kate Hudson in Alexander McQueen.

3. Michelle Dockery in Alexandre Vauthier.

2. Kerry Washington in Miu Miu.

1. Naomi Watts in Zac Posen.

My Top 5 Suits:

5. Jeremy Renner.

4. Hugh Jackman in Louis Vuitton.

3. Daniel Craig in Tom Ford.

2. Benedict Cumberbatch.

1. Robert Downey Jr.

So that’s my completely subjective “review” of the red carpet and my selection of best dressed (sorry about the lack of equality between men and women). What did everyone else think? Rest of DTSFT?

S x

2 thoughts on “Red Carpet Watch: The 70th Golden Globe Awards

  1. Okay, it’s @bythesheetstore here, I just need to say about all the men: Dayyyuuuummmmmm. And about Claire Danes – oh my god, she looked AMAZING. Another great post, Sophia, nicely done!

  2. Hannah here! Loved the post!

    Pretty much everyone looked great, but I have to say that my favourite dress was Julianne Hough – it was the perfect princess dress! And my favourite suit was definitely Jeremy Renner, he looked fantastic, what a stud!

Leave a Reply

