Red Carpet Watch: The Critics’ Choice Awards 2013

So, I’m late AGAIN. Sorry. I was trying to be productive with my time… it almost worked. But I had a look at some of the fashion a the Critics’ Choice Awards and there were some amazing clothes on show. Here’s just a selection of my favs – male and female:

Jennifer Lawrence wearing Prabal Gurung.

Jennifer Lawrence wearing Prabal Gurung. I love her. I made this clear in our Women of the Year post, but it’s still true. And this dress is amazing. It’s not too mature for her (she is only 22!) but it’s not “young”. It’s adult, flowy but punky through the use of leather on the top. Which also draws your eye to her bust – which is pretty much what every dress Lawrence wears does. It’s no bad thing. But the length and flow of the dress from the waist makes her look statuesque. I like it.

Marion Cotillard wearing Zuhair Murad.

Marion Cotillard wearing Zuhair Murad. This dress is also beautiful. Cotillard can sometimes be hit and miss for me on the red carpet but I really like this dress. It might be seen by some as a little cluttered – flower embroidery over lace – but I really like the texture. That’s what sells this dress. The texture.

Ian Somerhalder wearing Dolce & Gabbana.

Ian Somerhalder wearing Dolce & Gabbana. It’s a three-piece suit, with a tie clip. Need I say more? Ok, also appreciating that it isn’t black. It’s a nice change.

Henry Cavill wearing Tom Ford.

Henry Cavill wearing Tom Ford. This looks just like the Tom Ford suit Daniel Craig wore in ‘Skyfall’. I freaking LOVE that suit. (I’ve looked again and it’s not. But the midnight blue with black satin lapels is very close…) There’s also a bow tie. Superman indeed.

Helen Hunt wearing Philip Armstrong.

Helen Hunt wearing Philip Armstrong. 1) It’s red. Approval. 2) It’s a classic cut but the little lacy panels add some sexiness to it. 3) Hunt owns this dress. (Not in a ‘she bought it’ way.) Elegant.

Emmy Rossum wearing Caroline Herrera.

Emmy Rossum wearing Caroline Herrera. I love stars. I pretty much wanted everything Chanel made when they had their star fetish back in 2009. The overt stars on this dress are slightly hidden within the ‘night sky’. I just think it’s beautiful and drapes really well.

Emily Blunt and John Krasinski, Blunt wearing Miu Miu.

Emily Blunt and John Krasinski, Blunt wearing Miu Miu. How perfect do they look as a couple? Bless. And Blunt here looks nearly exactly like her character in ‘Death on the Nile’. Seriously. (It’s mostly the blonde hair and slight wave…) That’s the main reason I included this picture. And she’s got red lipstick on.

Eddie Redmayne wearing Acne.

Eddie Redmayne wearing Acne. Redmayne wearing a velvet tux? Shocking(!) Redmayne not wearing Burberry of any kind? Actually quite surprising. But it’s a very nice suit, with a pocket square and a knitted tie! I do enjoy a knitted tie.

Bradley Cooper wearing Tom Ford.

Bradley Cooper wearing Tom Ford. It’s a nice suit. It’s nothing special. But it’s Tom Ford so you know it’s going to be great.

Amy Adams wearing Vionnet.

Amy Adams wearing Vionnet. I know I’ve said elegant a lot so far, but this is. It’s bias cut drapey and I love it.

S x

One thought on “Red Carpet Watch: The Critics’ Choice Awards 2013

  1. Pingback: Red Carpet Watch: The 70th Golden Globe Awards « Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

Leave a Reply

