Day 21 of Christmas

We’ve had a few food posts and now the most important aspect. Alcohol. I am kidding. There are other more important things (family, togetherness…) but everyone loves the booze. I’ve collected a few recipes (from BBC – I’m predictable) and I’m going to share them. Also, I haven’t tried any of these YET so I claim no responsibility for the state you may get yourself in.

Mulled Wine

The classic. My Dad’s in charge of mulled wine in our house and I’m not exactly sure what goes into it… This recipe seems pretty likely though:

Ingredients

½ bottle red wine

1 cinnamon stick

2 star anise

2 cloves

1 orange, sliced

1 lemon, sliced

50g/1¾oz brown sugar

Method

Place all of the ingredients into a saucepan and simmer gently for 6-8 minutes, without boiling.

To serve, pour the mulled wine into heatproof glasses.

Egg Nog

I have never tried egg nog but they seem to be obsessed with it in America. Or from what I’ve gathered from watching American sitcoms. Maybe this year I’ll actually try it. Ignoring the fact that milk based cocktails and creamy drinks make me feel ill…

Ingredients

1140ml/2 pints whole milk

6 free-range eggs

50g/2oz caster sugar

1 vanilla pod, split

20 fresh cherries, stones removed and halved

200ml/7fl oz brandy

cocoa powder, for dusting

Method

  1. Place the milk, eggs, sugar and vanilla pod in a medium pan and heat gently, without boiling, until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon.
  2. The egg nog can be chilled at this stage or served hot.
  3. To serve, scatter the cherries in the bottom of each serving glass. Divide the brandy between the glasses and pour the egg nog over. Dust with cocoa powder and serve.

Sloe Gin Fizz

I’ve recently discovered a love of sloe gin and this sounds interesting – plus I’m sure we have some cream soda lying around. Easiest cocktails to make are the ones where you already have all the ingredients you need.

Ingredients

ice, as needed

50ml/1¾fl oz sloe gin

squeeze lemon juice

1 tsp sugar syrup (also sold as gomme syrup)

cream soda, to top up

To Garnish

1 blackberry

1 sprig fresh mint

Method

  1. Fill a highball glass with ice. Pour in the gin, lemon juice and sugar syrup and stir well. Top up with cream soda.
  2. Garnish with a blackberry and a sprig of mint. Serve.

Vodka Martini

After our visit to the Bond exhibition at the Barbican, we partook in martinis at the bar. I haven’t had one since – one reason being we don’t have any martini glasses. But this reminds me and I’d be tempted.

Ingredients

15ml/½fl oz vermouth

60ml/2fl oz Tyrrells potato vodka, or other potato vodka

twist lemon peel, to garnish

Method

  1. Pour the vermouth and vodka into a mixing glass and fill with ice cubes. Stir well (or shake, if you want to channel Mr Bond) and then strain into a small Martini glass.
  2. Garnish with a twist of lemon peel and serve.

Espresso Martini

Here’s a drink I have had. At a bar/club of all places. I love coffee. I like alcohol. I really want to try it again. But I’d need to get the herb-flavoured anise…

Ingredients

50ml/2fl oz vodka

25ml/1fl oz Galliano, or similar anise and herb-flavoured liqueur

1 tsp sugar syrup

25ml/1fl oz freshly brewed coffee

3 coffee beans, for garnish

Method

  1. Place the vodka, liqueur, sugar syrup and fresh coffee in a cocktail shaker with a handful of ice and shake hard.
  2. Strain into a martini glass and garnish with three coffee beans.

Or there’s another recipe I’ve found that uses Kahlua.

Ingredients

38ml/1.5 oz Kahlua

25ml/1 oz Absolut Vodka

25ml/1 oz Freshly brewed espresso

Method

Add all the ingredients to a shaker and fill with ice. Shake vigorously and strain into a chilled Martini glass.

Merry Christmas and happy drinking!

S x

Leave a Reply

