Red Carpet Watch: ‘The Hobbit’ London Royal Premiere

The London premiere of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey took place last night and had royalty in attendance. This time, I’m not too late with my post.

Here is a much smaller selection of the cast than at previous premieres - I think they just didn't gather. Or I didn't see a photo. Both are possible/likely.

Here is a much smaller selection of the cast than at previous premieres – I think they just didn’t gather. Or I didn’t see a photo. Both are possible/likely.

Martin Freeman wearing Richard James. Amanda Abbington looks beautiful in her dress.

Martin Freeman wearing Richard James. There’s no tie clip this time but there’s still a pocket square (you can’t see it in this photo, but it’s there). Freeman’s jacket is a nice change from his more restrained suits at the other premieres. The tartan isn’t overpowering and the shawl lapel gives great shaping. I also love the old fashioned knitted tie. And shiny shiny shoes. Freeman remains a sharp dresser. Amanda Abbington looks beautiful in her dress. With RED lipstick.

Ian McKellen wearing Unconditional.

Ian McKellen wearing Unconditional. I’m pretty sure that this, ignoring the coat, is the same outfit he wore to the New York premiere. This time, the stone is a necklace and he has a bow tie – for the royals I presume 😉 The coat is where McKellen really shows his stuff though.

Richard Armitage wearing Ermenegildo Zegna. A beautifully classic suit.

Richard Armitage wearing Ermenegildo Zegna. A beautifully classic suit. Down to the bow tie, the satin shawl lapel and the jetted pockets. Classic style.

Aidan Turner with another

Aidan Turner with another average-y suit. This one is probably my favourite – I really like the thin lapels. The tie is a bit too sheeny for my liking – it detracts from the lapels. But that’s just pickiness.

Cate Blanchett wearing Givenchy.

Cate Blanchett wearing Givenchy. Blanchett has done an amazing job at these premieres. This dress is classic, ethereal but, due to the backless nature and gold detailing, modern. Wonderful.

Luke Evans looks incredible.

Luke Evans looks incredible. I may be rethinking my views on him. Although, where is that 1/2″ cuff? The suit – impeccable. My favourite of the evening. That is all.

Dominic Monaghan wearing Pal Zileri and Billy Boyd wearing...a suit.

Dominic Monaghan wearing Pal Zileri and Billy Boyd wearing…a suit. My two favourites from the ‘Lord of the Rings’ films back together. Monaghan has a red bow tie with matching pocket square, Boyd has a tie clip and a pocket square. Monaghan has a slight fashion edge over Boyd. If you ignore the weird moustache. I hope that’s for an acting role. And not for his Channel 5 wildlife show. Bless them.

S x

Leave a Reply

