Red Carpet Watch: ‘The Hobbit’ New Zealand World Premiere and New York Premiere

So, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey comes out on the 13th. It’s all heating up now. There have been two premieres so far, with a Royal Premiere in London on the 12th December. (Yep that’s tomorrow. My original plan was to have this finished a few days ago. I’m a little disappointed with myself but my box set of The West Wing has arrived so I’m not THAT disappointed.) I’ve already missed two RCW’s: the New Zealand World Premiere was held on the 28th November (so missed it by a LOT) and the New York Premiere was held on the 7th December. The cast of this the first of three (film) prequels to The Lord of the Rings is pretty huge. And mostly male. I’ve concentrated on a set few. You can probably guess why. I’m not even ashamed. (Well, maybe a little.)

So, working chronologically we start with the New Zealand premiere.

So we have:

So we have… I can’t even see half of their faces. Lots of dwarves. That’s what we have.

Elijah Wood wearing Daniel Lewis for Brooklyn Tailors. This suit was made bespoke for Wood by tailer Lewis who makes suits starting in a smaller size - perfect for both Lewis and Wood who are the same size. I really like the suit. I think the cut works for Wood and the fabric tone is really interesting. I also think that the laid back style also works. There's no tie! Also, great sunglasses.

Elijah Wood wearing Daniel Lewis for Brooklyn Tailors. This suit was made bespoke for Wood by tailer Lewis who makes suits starting in a smaller size – perfect for both Lewis and Wood who are the same size. I really like the suit. I think the cut works for Wood and the fabric tone is really interesting. I also think that the laid back style also works. There’s no tie! Also, great sunglasses.

Martin Freeman wearing...I don't know - the Internet wouldn't tell me. I love the Ray Ban glasses though - you KNOW they're Ray Ban.

Martin Freeman wearing…I don’t know – the Internet wouldn’t tell me. I love the Ray Ban glasses though – you KNOW they’re Ray Ban. I love the tie clip. LOVE IT. And the co-ordination of the tie and pocket square…but I’m not sure of the tone of blue. Seems damn bright, especially next to that crisp white shirt. Which has an amazing collar. And the suit has an unusual uncovered white button. Freeman is just too cool for school.

Richard Armitage wearing...the Internet has disappointed me again.

Richard Armitage wearing…the Internet has disappointed me again. First thing I notice? TIE CLIP. Get in. I also really like the pinstripe on the navy blue suit. Playing a bright red tie off it is a nice addition too. The tie is verging on the thin side but not too skinny – a good width for Armitage’s height. The same goes for the cut of the suit. The trousers are particularly great.

Who knows what they're wearing? Anyone?

Who knows what they’re wearing? Anyone? So we have Aidan Turner, my favourite, and Dean O’Gorman, Sarah’s favourite. (Other dwarves are available.) Slim cut suits, thin ties. It’s all good. Super cool and laid back.

Cate Blanchett wearing Antonio Berardi. I love this dress. It's really unusual but works perfectly for Blanchett. The sheer quality of the top section balances the long black skirt section and Blanchett's figure doesn't get lost due to the sharp white belt section. Just beautiful. And Blanchett doesn't let the dress detract from her.

Cate Blanchett wearing Antonio Berardi. I love this dress. It’s really unusual but works perfectly for Blanchett. The sheer quality of the top section balances the long black skirt section and Blanchett’s figure doesn’t get lost due to the sharp white belt section. Just beautiful. And Blanchett doesn’t let the dress detract from her.

Evangeline Lilly wearing a dress made by someone. (The Internet and I are not on speaking terms now.)

Evangeline Lilly wearing a dress made by someone. (The Internet and I are not on speaking terms now.) I like the dress, in theory. A super short sequin dress with long sleeves? It should work. Maybe it’s the neckline that doesn’t look quite right? Maybe it’s that the dress doesn’t seem to be fitted enough? Maybe it’s the fact that those shoes look horrific? The new haircut is super distracting? I’m not sure. This outfit just doesn’t seem to work as a whole.

I just had to include this picture.

I just had to include this picture.

Moving on to the New York premiere.

The cast all together. (I love that if you look at this picture quickly it looks like Elijah Wood is sitting on Martin Freeman's lap. I believe he is. He's not.)

The cast all together. I love that if you look at this picture quickly it looks like Elijah Wood is sitting on Martin Freeman’s lap. I believe he is. (He’s not.)

First off, Martin Freeman is wearing the same tie pin as in New Zealand. Come on tie pins!

First off, Martin Freeman is wearing the same tie clip as in New Zealand. Come on tie clips! Freeman just looks super slick here. My only complaint would be that the pocket square looks a little fussy/busy, especially when near the stripy tie. But that’s being a bit petty. Also, Amanda Abbington’s dress is beautiful. The embroidery on the bodice section works perfectly, as does the gentle pleating on the skirt panels. Plus, that colour is stunning.

Ian McKellen wearing Unconditional.

Ian McKellen wearing Unconditional. So very suave. Just look at that pose. The trousers are quite slim fitting at the ankle but this works for McKellen. And his velvet jacket seems to have leather lapels and leather pocket flaps. I approve. And the precious stone worn with a thin collared shirt? Genius.

Elijah Wood wearing a Black Fleece by Brooks Brothers suit.

Elijah Wood wearing a Black Fleece by Brooks Brothers suit. Oh, Wood. I had such hope but, for me, all I can see is the jacket pulling at your button. All I can see. But you have a sharp pocket square. It’s so difficult. And the suit itself is impeccably cut just maybe a touch small? If you’d left it undone I’d probably never have noticed.

Richard Armitage wearing Michael Bastian.

Richard Armitage wearing Michael Bastian. The photograph of this check can be a little jarring – so much check going on! But I really like it. It’s a three-piece suit (we know how much I love those) and the blue tie perfectly plays off the grey tones of the suit. Wonderful.

Aidan Turner.

Aidan Turner. It’s a good suit. If, a bit plain and, dare I say it, “High Street”. It’s all a bit subdued.

Dean O'Gorman.

Dean O’Gorman. A bow tie. Who doesn’t love a bow tie? It works perfectly to smarten up this suit. O’Gorman puts Turner to shame I’m afraid.

I love Lee Pace.

I love Lee Pace. And he’s wearing a tie clip. I like to think that tie clips are going to come back because I’ve been banging on about them for five months. I don’t think that’s the reason but I can be delusional for a bit. I like the sharpness of the lapels on the suit but can’t help but wonder where his sleeves have gone? Where is the desired 1/2″? And, now I’m being picky, would it kill Pace to do up his top button? He’s wearing a tie, with a tie clip; clearly this is a smart event!

Liv Tyler wearing

Liv Tyler wearing…who knows? Red lipstick and red shoes. Approval. Tuxedo jacket. Definite approval. Ruffled blouse? Nice contradiction with the fitted nature of the jacket. Satin shorts? Yes, but I think the whole outfit would have looked better if they were a slimmer line. If the jacket ended at her waist there would have been no problem. But it doesn’t. Pettiness over.

I’m off to see The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey on Sunday. I’m excited. But my excitement has waned since the announcement of the three parts. I thought two was a push. Oh well, we’ll see what happens.

S x

Leave a Reply

