Red Carpet Watch: ‘Les Miserables’ World Premiere in London

So, I know my RCW posts are usually a little late but this time I have an excuse for the lateness of the day – I’ve just moved and unpacking is a bitch. But I’m not going to dwell on that. Let’s look at the pretty of the Les Miserables World Premiere in London instead.

So here’s the full cast assembled just before the screening:

'Les Miserables' Cast

So Anne Hathaway is wearing a Givenchy dress. I kinda like it. It's unusual so I give her props for choosing it but...it's a bit too out there for me. She will always look great though. (Damn her.)

So Anne Hathaway is wearing a Givenchy dress. I kinda like it. It’s unusual so I give her props for choosing it but… I like the flow of the dress, the beading and the back but those sleeves. They just irritate me for some reason. She will always look great though. (Damn her.)

Amanda Seyfried wearing Balciaga. This is beautiful. I have my reservations about peplums, mostly because they can be worn really really badly. Here? Perfect. The flow of the peplum with the flash of white fabric showing through just lifts it. As does the looser fit of the dress along with the low neckline. And the flounce up the high split of the skirt. It links the whole dress together.

Amanda Seyfried wearing Balciaga. This is beautiful. I have my reservations about peplums, mostly because they can be worn really really badly. Here? Perfect. The flow of the peplum with the flash of white fabric showing through just lifts it. As does the looser fit of the dress along with the low neckline. And the flounce up the high split of the skirt. It links the whole dress together. And the super thin black belt/band around the waist gives a great subtle emphasis on Seyfried’s shape.

Helena Bonham Carter wearing Vivienne Westwood. I didn't really need to check that. Westwood works for her so she sticks with it. On someone else this dress might seem over-the-top but on Carter it just fits perfectly.

Helena Bonham Carter wearing Vivienne Westwood. I didn’t really need to check that. Westwood works for her so she sticks with it. On someone else this dress might seem over-the-top but on Bonham Carter it just fits perfectly.

Samantha Barks wearing Stella McCartney. I wasn't sure about this dress to begin with but I approve. The sheer panel is compensated for with a high neckline, long sleeves and a flowing skirt. The embellishment on the bodice section of the dress helps to draw the eye away from the sheer waist section. Clever.

Samantha Barks wearing Stella McCartney. I wasn’t sure about this dress to begin with but I approve. The sheer panel is compensated for with a high neckline, long sleeves and a flowing skirt. The embellishment on the bodice section of the dress helps to draw the eye away from the sheer waist section. Clever.

Hugh Jackman

Hugh Jackman wearing Lanvin. I love this man. He always looks impeccably turned out for red carpet events. It's not really worth commenting. HCGI.

Hugh Jackman wearing Lanvin. I love this man. He always looks impeccably turned out for red carpet events. It’s not really worth commenting. HCGI.

Russell Crowe wearing Giorgio Armani. Crowe keeps it very classic and grown up here. Why mess with a look that works? Bravo.

Russell Crowe wearing Giorgio Armani. Crowe keeps it very classic and grown up here. Why mess with a look that works? Bravo.

As one expects Bonham Carter to wear Vivienne Westwood, one expects Redmayne to wear Burberry. (This time Burberry Prorsum.) Well, you would if you're their model and they give the stuff to you! Redmayne is a fan of velvet and this teal number is pretty interesting. Slim lines, I like it. And I like his shoes.

As one expects Bonham Carter to wear Vivienne Westwood, one expects Redmayne to wear Burberry. (This time Burberry Prorsum.) Well, you would if you’re their model and they give the stuff to you! Redmayne is a fan of velvet and this teal number is pretty interesting. Slim lines, I like it. And I like his shoes.

Russell Crowe, Anne Hathaway, Hugh Jackman and Amanda Seyfried

The last RCW post I wrote was about Anna Karenina and I was generally disappointed (we don’t talk about the film either…I had issues). Here on the other hand, I am thoroughly impressed (not mentioning Isla Fisher…not a fan of that dress). Now I’m kinda excited to see the film – and it’s being planned as a DTSFT “Field Trip”. Jealous? You should be.

S x

Leave a Reply

