Day 5 of Christmas

I know I started this string of Christmas posts with Christmas music but that was technically film score so shhhh. Here are some of my favourite Christmas songs (excluding film related songs btw). Some obvious, some less so, all put me firmly in the Christmas spirit and that’s what I hope for all of you… (sorry for the mushy sentiment – it’s Christmas!)

Aimee Mann: You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch

Aimee Mann is one of my favourite artists and I could probably listen to her sing anything. I got her Christmas album One Drifter in the Snow when it came out a few years ago and this little number snuck up on me as a favourite. I don’t really know why. I’m not a huge Dr Seuss fan so it can’t be that. I think it’s the combination of narration, lyrics and I want to say chord changes (Helen, help me out). I just adore it. And I apologise for the video but there is no YouTube rip of the song from the album! (I also strongly recommend the rest of the album – I’m also particularly fond of Winter Wonderland, God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen and Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas).

The Waitresses: Christmas Wrapping

So this isn’t a karaoke version, it just has the lyrics so you can all sing along. This song is just an amazing modern classic. I love it. Start singing!

Margaret Whiting and Johnny Mercer: Baby, It’s Cold Outside

This is one of those songs that I like but I still haven’t found one single version that I love above others. I like the Rod Stewart and Dolly Parton one. Obvs. Anne Murray and Michael Bublé. (I love Bublé – I don’t care if that’s not cool.) Lee Ann Womack and Harry Connick, Jr. Lady Antebellum. There’s so many more I haven’t heard half of them. But this version’s pretty great.

Harry Connick, Jr.: The Happy Elf

I have three Harry Connick, Jr. Christmas albums. Three. And I’d be first in line if he released another. My point here is that I had a number of songs to choose from. Checking my most played on iTunes I came up with The Happy Elf but honourable mentions have to go to Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town, I’m Gonna be the First One, The Christmas Waltz and Santarrific. Go on, YouTube them/buy them. Everyone loves a jazzy Christmas, right?

Michael Bublé (Featuring the Puppini Sisters): Jingle Bells

The Bublé Christmas album is pretty damn good. I’ve generally gone off Jingle Bells but this version with the Puppini Sisters is fantastic. I love the 40s vibe it has. It’s just so much fun! (I’m also totally just buying the Puppini Sisters Christmas album.)

Wham!: Last Christmas

No explanation required. Am I right?!

Ella Fitzgerald: Sleigh Ride

I love this. It’s Ella. It’s Christmassy. It’s timeless.

The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl: Fairytale of New York

A little bit downbeat but who doesn’t love singing their arguments? Who?

Diana Krall: What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?

I really like Diana Krall’s Christmas CD and this song is one I hadn’t heard before (apart from on a Connick, Jr. album). Less bouncy than some of the other songs but I really like it and I love her voice.

Rooney: Little St. Nick

There are NO videos on YouTube for the above song. So I give you Merry Xmas Everybody (featured in The O.C. – super back in the day)

Making of the Christmas EP. This includes clips of Last Xmas, Happy Xmas (War Is Over) and Little St. Nick at the end:

More of Little St. Nick in this vid:

I’m sorry that the last bit sucked. But I LOVE Rooney so I had to include them. I hate so much that they haven’t toured in the UK for ages. It SUCKS! But that’s not really anything to do at all with Christmas. Just check out their music!

I know that I haven’t chosen some obvious songs (White Christmas, Let It Snow, All I Want for Christmas is You, Santa Baby) but these are some of my fav songs. Opinions? Criticisms? Let me know!

S x

Leave a Reply

