Style Icon: Scarlett Johansson Part Two

A continuation of my previous post – a selection of outfits from 2009 onwards. Wearing Mango at the 2009 Mango Collection Launch. This is a great tailored outfit – very business like and great for work wear. Let’s be honest, if you have an office type job you will spend much of your life in outfits like this. And you’ll wish you looked like Johansson in them. I also really like the shoes. (Red lipstick – <;;3) Wearing Prada to the Opening Night of the Los Angeles Shorts Festival in 2009. From the top: I love her hair here. It looks beautiful and very forties-y. Then red lipstick. (Did I mention I like red lipstick? Did I?) I think this dress is beautiful and it’s all down to the forties cut. The slight shoulder-pads, the gathering at the bust, the waistband and even the length. And it’s all very subtle because it’s in a nude shade – matched with the nude heels. I think some people thought it was too old for Johansson but…I’d wear it! And I’m younger. But maybe that’s just me. Wearing Dolce & Gabbana for the 2010 opening night of ‘A View from the Bridge’. This floral dress has a similar cut to the nude dress – and had a worse reaction from critics. I prefer the nude dress but I still like the vintage feel of this dress. The print is particularly interesting. Wearing Elie Saab to the 2010 Tony Awards. This is a fairly show-stopping number. Super fitted with a great flow at the bottom. The sequins give it a great petrol colour and shine. The neckline with the additional straps are also interesting without being over-the-top. You know, given that it’s a floor length fitted sequin gown. Wearing Dolce & Gabbana to the 2011 Academy Awards. This is my favourite dress of hers. Favourite. I was at a friend’s and we watched the Oscars live that year (an achievement given the UK time difference) and I was in love with this dress from the start. I was always torn between this dress and Mila Kunis‘s as being my favourite. I love the colour, I love the lace, I love the fit, I love the back – I love it ALL. And after The Avengers I also love it because it came with these moments that I didn’t see on the night. Wearing Elie Saab to the 2011 Golden Globe Awards. This Elie Saab dress is another beautiful choice. Very elegant. It’s also fairly soft. The colour, the fabric, the length and flow of the dress, the sleeves. A change from some super fitted dresses and I still think it’s a great choice. Wearing Dolce & Gabbana to the New York We Bought a Zoo Premiere in 2011. My opinion of this has faltered a bit. I think it’s mostly the crop top aspect. It reminds me of the 90s and of…people wearing crop tops that shouldn’t. (And I don’t just mean me.) But you have to appreciate the style of the top and skirt. The fabric is pretty heavy weight but with a great patterned texture that you can just about see. I really like the cut of the top (despite the cropped nature). The bustier style cut, the neckline. All very fitted and fifties. I’ve decided that I do like this, I’m just annoyed that I couldn’t wear it. Not that I’d be likely to afford D&G anyway. Wearing Prada to the London Premiere of Avengers Assemble in 2012. Similarly to the previous D&G top and skirt I went back and forth with this dress. I didn’t like it to begin with. It still seems a little fussy or cluttered to me but it has grown on me.The flower embroidery is all beautiful, as is the main shape of the dress. I think I have issues with the peplum. They’ve just been a bit everywhere and I think that, for this dress, it was pretty unnecessary. I can forgive Johansson though because she has patent red stilettos. And, if a little muted, red lipstick. Wearing Mary Katrantzou to the Rome Premiere of The Avengers in 2012. This was my favourite of Johansson’s dresses from all The Avengers promotion. This is a dress that lets the print do the talking. Katrantzou is well known for her digital prints and, for reasons I can’t put my finger on, I really like this one. The dress is styled well to use the print as “shaping” for the dress and the flare in the skirt opens it all out. Bravo. Wearing Dolce and Gabbana to the 2012 Costume Institute Gala. Here we have a much more “princess” dress for the Met Ball. I love me some tulle, embellishment and a long bodice. That’s all I really have to say. Wearing Preen for the ceremony for her Hollywood Walk of Fame star in 2012. I included this picture rather than this one (but I got it in!) just so that I could get the sunglasses in. They’re brilliant. Monochrome is on trend at the moment but Johansson got their early – and teaming it with red shoes.

S x

2 thoughts on “Style Icon: Scarlett Johansson Part Two

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Beautiful Elie Saab Gowns Worn by Celebrities

Leave a Reply

