Style Icon: Scarlett Johansson Part One

We all love Scarlett Johansson. Helen even wrote a post about her in the early stages of the blog. So now, I’m going to look at some of her best fashion moments. I found too many but that’s possibly because I’m completely biased towards her. Completely.

Wearing Calvin Klein at the 2004 Costume Institute Gala.

So here’s Johansson in 2004. This was after Lost in Translation and part of her transition from punky actress with a nose ring to the glamorous BAFTA winning/Golden Globe nominated actress we know today. The dress is a perfect fit for her shape and drapes beautifully. The lemon yellow might be a difficult colour but Johansson pulls it off. (Although of course I’d say that.)

Wearing Roland Mouret at the 2004 Golden Globe Awards.

This is one of my favourite looks of Johansson’s. Very Marilyn inspired to my mind – mostly the hair but also the figure-hugging cut of the dress. Johansson had two performances nominated for a Golden Globe (Lost in Translation and Girl with a Pearl Earring) but, alas, lost out to Charlize Theron and Diane Keaton. (In my opinion Johansson won the fashion stakes though.)

Wearing Missoni at Premiere Magazine’s ‘The New Power’ event in 2005.

My favourite thing about this dress is its fifties inspired cut – the halter neck, the sweetheart neckline and the draping around the waist. Also a big fan of the red lips and hairstyle.

Wearing Valentino at the 2006 Golden Globes Awards.

A clinging red dress. Valentino. Voluminous hair. Any additional comments?

Wearing Peter Som at the New York Scoop Premiere in 2006.

I don’t love this but there’s something about this dress that I really like. It might be the lace at the neckline that has a slight suggestion/feel/implication of a bra being revealed. Or it might be the bow at the waist. I’m not sure. Any ideas? (I also have a big soft spot for Scoop. It might appear in another Films We Really Shouldn’t Love But Do post. I’m not sure.)

Wearing Vera Wang at the 2006 Venice Film Festival.

This vintage kimono style dress is a really interesting choice. It’s almost too old for Johansson but I still love the feel of it.

Wearing Stella McCartney at the 2007 Costume Institute Gala.

This is a much more youthful option. The fishnet tights in particular add an edge to the dress. I like the decoration on the bodice panels and the little gathers in the skirt – adding something a little different to the dress.

Wearing Monique Lhuillier at the 2007 Grammy Awards.

This looks like a very simple dress and I think that might be what I love about it. It is still fitted – looks like it could be a jersey – and the embellishments are really delicate but interesting and sexy. I just really like it!

Wearing Givenchy at the Moet and Chandon ‘Tribute to Cinema’ event in Tokyo in 2008.

I also love this – it’s red, I’m nearly guaranteed to like it. The fabric is beautiful and the neckline shape is really unusual – it reminds me a little of the forties. It might not remind anyone else but it does me! Maybe I’m just thinking of Peggy Carter though!

Wearing Dolce & Gabbana at the 2008 Berlin premiere of The Other Boleyn Girl.

More fishnets! I actually miss fishnets a little. Maybe they’ll come back again (although I’m totally in love with seamed tights at the moment). This is a very fifties dress for Johansson – must be an amazing underskirt underneath. The neckline is quite low-cut but, weirdly, doesn’t really come across too much. This might be due to the gently sloping line created from the shoulder straps and the wide waist belt. I don’t really know. And the colour is beautiful. I really love this dress.

Please wait with bated breath (not really) for Part Two. And let me know what you think – am I wrong? Do we have similar favourites? (I’m aware that these dresses are up to 2008 and Part Two will concentrate on 2009 – present.)

S x

One thought on “Style Icon: Scarlett Johansson Part One

  1. Pingback: Style Icon: Scarlett Johansson Part Two « Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

Leave a Reply

