Style Icon: Hayley Atwell

I adore Hayley Atwell. It was Captain America: The First Avenger that did it – I loved her as Peggy Carter. (Was it accurate/faithful to the comics? I don’t know. Do I care? Not really.) The attitude, the red lips, the costumes, the figure. Heaven. Before Captain America I’d only seen her in Brideshead Revisited after which I vaguely remember coming out and bemoaning the fact that the costumes had made her look fat. I haven’t brought myself to watch it again cos I didn’t enjoy the film. Regardless of “fat” costumes. Following that, there was The Duchess. I just remember her being majorly busty, especially compared to Keira Knightley – but then, who isn’t?

I will definitely consider catching up on stuff she has made, like Any Human Heart as I recently read the book and enjoyed it, and am looking forward to Restless, again I read the book fairly recently. Not The Sweeney though. I just can’t bring myself to watch it.

But, moving away from that, here are some of her amazing red carpet choices from the last two years or so.

So Hayley’s rocking a bright yellow polka dot, seriously figure-hugging Dolce and Gabbana dress at the 2010 GQ Men of the Year Awards. I wasn’t sure if I liked this dress at first but now, I love it. It’s very fifties inspired, which is great for her shape, but the colour and the fit is also fairly contemporary. And red nails and lipstick.

This Dolce and Gabbana dress was worn for the Visa Signature screening of Captain America in New York in 2011. I can’t tell if this dress is polka dots or tiny little stars. Either way, I want it. It just drapes beautifully over her curves and she lets that dress take power over everything – but without her in it, it would be nothing.

This custom made L’Wren Scott dress worn for the Los Angeles Captain America premiere in 2011 is in serious competition with Peggy’s red dress. They both fit beautifully and do the job they should do. And the accessories and make-up are toned down to let the power of that red dress hold centre. If anyone was going to steal attention at that premiere from Captain America himself it would be Hayley.

The Costume Institute Gala (otherwise known as the Met Ball) in 2011. This dress was custom made for Hayley by Bally. I think it’s a really striking dress for Hayley to choose, especially with the tan leather panelling down the sides. It had mixed views but I love it.

Another unexpected dress from Hayley. Never one to be pinned down to a particular shape, this Antonio Barardi dress that she wore to the 2011 British Academy Television Awards is a little unexpected. But it works. It’s streamlined, well cut, it fits her well and…I love it.

Roksanda Ilincic at the 2012 Empire Film Awards. I’m always a fan of bright colours. Especially bright colours on shoes and I love the turquoise dress with the orange heels. The dress is softly fitted but still smooths over the right curves.

Wearing Emilio Pucci at the London Premiere of The Sweeney in 2012. With red lipstick. I love the Charlotte Olympia shoes with the bright blue of the dress. And the beautiful beading and embroidery on the front panel. It’s another interesting, different dress for Hayley to choose.

This Jexika dress Hayley wore to the Olivier Awards in 2012 is a stunner. A nude shade that almost gives the impression that she has nothing on. Saucy. It hugs her completely and the flow of the fishtail section shows the shine of the fabric and the beautiful draping. This may be my favourite of her dresses – particularly for its classic simplicity.

S x

2 thoughts on “Style Icon: Hayley Atwell

  1. Pingback: 5 Influential Red Dresses in Films « Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

  2. Pingback: The Costumes of ‘Agent Carter’ that Already Make it Great | Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

Leave a Reply

