Emmys 2012: Best Dressed Women

The 64th Primetime Emmy Awards took place on Sunday night (and was shown last night on 5USA at 10pm in jolly old England) and the dresses were out in full force. I managed to watch Live from the Red Carpet on E! late on Sunday (but only for an hour because, unlike these ladies, I had a desk job to go to) and I was really impressed with how everyone turned out. There were way too many gorgeous gowns to choose from, but I have chosen ten – yes, ten! – of the girls who had their red carpet game cranked up to 11.

Jane Levy (Suburgatory) in Pamella Roland

I love the colour of this dress, it looks great with her porcelain skin tone and really brings out the colour of her eyes. And because it’s such a bold colour she’s kept her hair and accessories simple.

Ginnifer Goodwin (Once Upon A Time) in Monique Lhuillier

My absolute favourite dress of the night. And I love Ginnifer Goodwin, she’s yummy. As I said before, orange isn’t worn that often but it definitely works with this dress. Her shoes are cute too, but I reckon they would kill me if I wore them!

Nicole Kidman in Antonio Berardi

This dress is pure elegance. The pattern is something that I didn’t think she would go for, but it’s great that she did because it looks amazing on her. I also love that she’s kept her hair and earrings simple so that the focus is on the gown. Seriously sophisticated.

Emily VanCamp (Revenge) in J. Mendel

She looks so cute in this dress! I think that grey is a tricky colour to wear in terms of red carpet dresses, but she has definitely pulled it off with this one. I love her earrings too, they sort of lift the grey shade and add a bit of sparkle. And check out the Van Cleef bow bracelet. Love it.

Tina Fey (30 Rock) in Vivienne Westwood

Gorgeous, classy and understated. And check out those killer curves! She looks ay-may-zing. However, even though I’m feeling the upswept hairstyle, I’d like to see her do something completely different with it next time.

Leslie Mann in Naeem Khan

Such a pretty dress. The skirt is a lovely, bright colour and the turquoise jewellery is a good contrast. I kind of like the fact that it has pockets, too; but if I was wearing something like that I’d stash all sorts of crap in there, like chocolate wrappers, expired train tickets and loose change.

Elisabeth Moss (Mad Men) in Dolce & Gabbana

The style of this dress is really interesting, and she made a great choice with the pattern. Flowery dresses are at the risk of looking too fussy, but because the design is on a black background and she’s worn black shoes, it looks very elegant and formal. I’m loving the new hairdo, too!

Sarah Paulson (American Horror Story) in Reem Acra

Just like Anna Faris, Sarah Paulson (who was in American Gothic – “It’s mah burfday”) is looking reem in Reem Acra. The pattern and the midnight blue colour gives the dress an ethereal and princess-y look. I think her hair would have looked better if it was up, but she still looks gorgeous.

Zosia Mamet (Girls) in Bihbu Mahopatra

From what I’ve been reading online today, not many people were fans of this dress, but personally I love it. I think it’s really unique. Her slicked back hair and accessories look great with it too: she’s kept them simple and sophisticated to stop everything looking OTT.

Kiernan Shipka (Mad Men) in Zac Posen

People are too quick to turn little girls into women these days, but everything about this look is dainty, girly and very age-appropriate, and the full skirt makes her look like a princess. What a little cutie!

Hannah

Leave a Reply

