Emmys 2012: Best Dressed Of The Emmys 2011

Aside from the actual awards themselves, there’s one other thing that everyone always looks forward to seeing, and that’s the red carpet.

As Benedict Cumberbatch once said, events like this always carry with it a sense of “high octane glamour”: everyone steps out dressed to impress and the results are pretty spectacular.

I can’t wait to see what everyone will be wearing this year, but to get ourselves warmed up I’ve picked some of my favourite dresses from last year’s Emmys.

Archie Panjabi (The Good Wife) in Angel Sanchez

Love the style, love the colour. I’m not sure if she needs some bling bling earrings or not, but other than that she looks amazing.

Nina Dobrev (The Vampire Diaries) in Donna Karan

THE best dress of the event. It’s very old school glamour and this shade of red is gorgeous. And her hair and accessories are very understated and let the dress do its thing. Perfect.

Connie Britton (Friday Night Lights) in Maria Lucia Hohan

Again, a lovely shade of red. I wasn’t too sure about the nude panels at the sides though. I also love the sexy split at the side and tousled hair. Bang on.

Julia Stiles (Dexter) in Georges Hobeika Couture

I seem to be picking out all the strapless dresses! I like the floaty material of this one and the twisted and folded style at the front. Again I’m not sure if she needs some bling bling earrings but her hair finishes the look nicely.

Kelly Osbourne (Fashion Police) in J. Mendel

I love the colour and the straps make the dress look interesting. I also like the ‘mermaid’ style at the bottom. I just can’t get over the hair though! Is it white? Platinum blonde? Grey? I don’t know.

Julianna Margulies (The Good Wife) in Armani Privé

A lot of people didn’t like this dress but I loved it! I love the sculptured bodice at the top, and the fact that the dress just goes straight down draws attention to the bodice and doesn’t look fussy. Simple, understated and elegant. Love it.

Gwyneth Paltrow (Glee – guest appearance) in Emilio Pucci

I quite like Gwyneth Paltrow’s style because she keeps things interesting, like the Tom Ford cape dress she wore at last year’s Oscars. I like the crop top and skirt affair here, and I don’t think anyone else could have pulled this off. It’s just lovely.

Anna Faris in Reem Acra

Looking well reem in Reem Acra. It’s a really interesting pattern, but like Julianna Margulies’ dress, the style is kept simple so the attention is on the pattern. I think maybe a plain gold, silver, or even red clutch would have set it off nicely, but the one she is holding still works.

Looking fabulous, ladies!

Hannah

One thought on “Emmys 2012: Best Dressed Of The Emmys 2011

  1. Pingback: Emmys 2012: Best Dressed « Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

Leave a Reply

