Emmys 2012: 5 US TV Shows That I’m Addicted To

The 2012 Primetime Emmys are only a few weeks away (23rd September – or should I say, September 23rd?) and to get ourselves ready here at DTSFT we’re going to post a few things about American TV.

I absolutely love American TV. Not just the shows themselves, but also the technical stuff, like when the fall season starts, and when pilot season is, and what shows have been picked up, renewed…or – dun-dun-duuuuun – cancelled.

I’ve been spending a lot of time watching some of the latest US series, and I have to say that I’ve been very impressed. But then again, I didn’t think that they would let me down!

Here are 5 shows that I just can’t seem to switch off:

Revenge

What’s it about? After seeing her dad get sent to prison for a crime he didn’t commit, Emily Thorne returns to her childhood home in the Hamptons to get revenge on the people who did it.

You guys probably knew that this was coming. Revenge is fantastic. It’s soapy, sexy, sticky and silly, and I love everything about it: the twisted storylines, the cutting one-liners (I’m looking at you, Nolan Ross!), the designer outfits and lavish parties. It’s almost like a ‘fly-on-the-wall’ thing for me really; like we’re getting a sneak peek in on the crazy lives of the stinking rich and infamous. Season 1 is still going in the UK, but I believe that Season 2 has started filming across the pond, and is due to air on 30th September (but not for a while in the UK), with even more crazy plots, eccentric characters and awesome outfits from Nolan. Can. Not. Wait.

Covert Affairs

What’s it about? Annie Walker gets recruited into the complex and action-packed world of the CIA, all the while having to keep her job a secret from her sister.

Seriously underrated. The whole tone of the show is cute, but because it’s about the double life of a CIA agent it hasn’t forgotten to pack a punch.

The cast is great, including the gorgeous Piper Perabo as Annie Walker and a great performance from the equally gorgeous Christopher Gorham as blind military intelligence/special ops officer Auggie Anderson, and the stories are really engaging. I don’t think people in the UK rate it as much as those in the US do, but if you’re thinking about watching it, you really should – it’s a lot of fun!

Once Upon A Time

What’s it about? A land full of fairy tale characters gets cursed by the Wicked Queen, and sends them all to an alternate world – ours. In the small town of Storybrooke, the characters are completely unaware of their past lives…until a woman named Emma shows up and changes everything.

Exciting, heart-warming and lovable, this series provides an interesting twist on some of the most popular fairy tales: Snow White is a butt-kicking tough cookie and Little Red Riding Hood is part girl, part wolf. I also find the similarities between the fairy tale characters and the residents of Storybrooke quite clever: Snow White is a teacher called Mary Margaret Blanchard, Jiminy Cricket is a psychiatrist called Dr. Hopper, and ‘Granny’s House’ is now a diner. Season 1 has now finished in the UK and we won’t get the next lot until next year (I had to hold back the tears when I heard the news) but they’ve picked a hell of a cliffhanger, haven’t they?

Political Animals

What’s it about? Elaine Barrish Hammond, wife of former President Bud Hammond, decides to run for the top spot herself, but her troubled family life often gets in the way of her campaign.

I’ve only started watching this recently, but I’m only 3 or so episodes in and I can’t tear myself away from it. I like my TV shows dark and kind of twisted and this one is definitely that. There’s swearing, sex, conspiracy, back-stabbing…it’s brilliant. However it does include some serious political issues, such as a dispute between Elaine and President Garcetti about whether or not to rescue a Chinese submarine left stranded in the West Coast. And Sigourney Weaver is amazing as Elaine. I can’t wait to watch the rest!

Homeland

What’s it about? CIA operative Carrie Mathison believes that American solider Nicholas Brody was turned while he was held captive by the Al-Qaeda and is planning to make an attack on the United States.

Although it’s more complex (and more sweary), it still has the same hard edge as my favourite TV show, like, ever ever ever, 24. And I think that that’s what drew me to it. The main storyline is easy enough to follow, but what’s great about it is that so many other storylines are woven through it, making it difficult to work out the characters’ motives, such as the close – very close – relationship between Carrie and Brody, and the fact that Brody’s wife Jessica started seeing his best friend Mike while he was in Iraq. I did find the last episode of Season 1 a bit of an anti-climax, but that hasn’t lowered my expectations; I’m sure the next season will come back with a bang…they just need to go pick up a few Emmys first.

Hannah

Leave a Reply

