Red Carpet Watch: ‘Anna Karenina’ London Premiere

I’m quite excited about Anna Karenina because it looks visually beautiful and because Atonement is one of my favourite films so I have faith in Joe Wright. My attempt to read the book before seeing the film is clearly failing because I didn’t realise quite how long the thing is! And so much has happened considering I’m only a third of the way through….whew.

Here are numerous red carpet looks from the London premiere last night. First off, I was generally disappointed. And this saddens me a lot.

So, Keira Knightley in Chanel. So far so predictable. But…it’s just…I don’t know. I think it’s just too frothy for me. WIth a weird fishtail. I would like maybe just a skirt or just a top but both is too much for me.

Jude, Jude, Jude. Such hopes. But this is plain odd. I like the trousers, but the waistcoat is too short so shows the bottom of the shirt (ugly). I like the tie, the shirt and the jacket but not with the trousers, not the jacket at least. There’s too much texture going on for me.

Sam Taylor-Wood and Aaron Taylor-Johnson. Taylor-Wood looks pretty good but Taylor-Johnson just looks unkempt. But that’s probably just his hair. The tux looks pretty nice and I like the brooch. It’s cute.

Keeley Hawes and Matthew Macfadyen. I just don’t like…any of it. Well, maybe Hawes’ shoes.

I’m actually quite a big fan of Juno Temple. And I really like her dress here. Not so much the shoes but she’s got the nicest dress so far.

Alicia Vikande. I’m in love with this dress. It’s beautiful. It’s classy but sexy and has old fashioned glamour. Love.

Benedict Cumberbatch. Meh. It’s alright. It’s not awful but it’s not great. Very laidback but the jacket and trousers are too close but not close enough in colour for me.

Laura Bailey. Kinda Russian and ‘Anna Karenina’-y but…I don’t like it. Another odd outfit for me. Loving the clutch bag though.

Cara Delevingne wearing Burberry. I do like this. I’m not really sure why. I guess I like the metallic fabric but that the dress itself is fairly simple so that it isn’t overpowering. I like the shoes. And the bag has a dog or fox head on it. That’s super cool. I want it.

Here’s hoping the film doesn’t visually disappoint!

S x

One thought on “Red Carpet Watch: ‘Anna Karenina’ London Premiere

  1. Pingback: Red Carpet Watch: ‘Les Miserables’ World Premiere in London « Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

Leave a Reply

