Youtube Nail Art Binge

Oh god I can’t stop watching nail art tutorials.  I need help.  I go through a  cycle with my nails.

GROW NAILS – PAINT NAILS – NAIL BREAKS – FILE NAILS – PLAY MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS – FORGET TO FILE NAILS – GROW NAILS – PAINT NAILS…

… and so on.

Over on our friend @LydiarghGrace’s blog, she featured a list of nail art pictures from when she suffered the same fate that many girls go through – the endless trap of watching tutorials for making awesome nail art.  Her post sort of had a theme, as it was featured in her Geek-to-Chic bit.  Now, I’m not much of a geek and I couldn’t handle chic if I tried, so here’s some of my favourite nail art tutorials that I have either tried or watched while hugging my knees and crying because I lack the dexterity and concentration to create such awesome nails.

Vintage flowers, rose prints

Video by Violet LeBeaux

I’ve tried this one before and I’m not exaggerating when I say you need that god damn nail art brush.  Toothpicks and hairpins just won’t do, I’m telling you. But isn’t this gorgeous?  I tend to struggle with really girly, elegant things and so this didn’t suit me much, but if you’re the Cath Kidston type, then I reckon this is the nail art for you.

Ombre nails

I LOVE this style, I love love love it.  I think it looks best on mid-length to long nails rather than short, because you get the best effect with blending the colours and whether you want it to be subtle or have an impact there’s something for everyone.

Video by MissChievous

This is an example of a more glitzy style of ombre nail, and while I quite dislike glittery nail varnish (I used to love it, so this might change in the future) I love how this one looks.  Over on the MissChievous channel there are loads of great tutorials for nails, one of which features later on.  There’s another video by NikkieTutorials which features a great colour combination of bright yellow, bright pink and purple.  I’ve hyperlinked the video rather than featured it because I don’t think it’s actually that good of a tutorial, partly because she doesn’t properly remove the excess polish from around her nails and her nails are grubby as fuck at the start – you’d think someone would clean their nails before filming them, jeez.

Anything by CutePolish

I’m serious, anything by this girl.  She’s incredible.  There’s no theme she can’t do – peacock nails, tuxedo nails, Sesame Street nails – even friggin’ Nyan Cat nails.  She has a really clear and relaxed way of describing her designs and how to do them, plus she doesn’t just rely on her nails and polish.  She really commits!  There’s a few that require you to print stuff out and stick them to your nails, but it always looks awesome once you’re finished.  I’m using a few of her videos later on in this post but for now, here’s three of my favourite videos, including her brilliant April Fool’s polar bear tutorial.

Newspaper nail art

Yeah it’s a CutePolish video again.  This is a design I’ve only recently seen, and I reckon would actually be easy to do but difficult to pull off.  I used a different technique that does not require rubbing alcohol, just water.

I didn’t take to it because I used white as a base colour, and my skin tone doesn’t really accommodate bright colours all that well.

Five Finger Nail Art

That’s my name for the kind of nail art that uses all your fingernails with a different design on each to make one big design.  It takes dedication to commit to something like that, I think.  A common one is the bumble bee nail art; there’s one by CutePolish (obviously) but here I’m going to include one by the adorable and crazy talented Bubz Beauty:

How cute is that?  That’s one I reckon I could do, if it weren’t for the fact that all my nail polishes are just variations on the same pink/nude colour.

Animal Print

Our very own Sophia is a fan of leopard print, and in the last year or so the leopard print nail art has really taken off once people have seen how easy it is to do.  Here’s another video courtesy of CutePolish.

If you don’t have the special nail art brush, you can use a toothpick of a hairpin to get the narrow lines and dots.  I know I’m starting to sound like a CutePolish fan-girl, but I don’t care – here’s one more video from her, and you will LOVE this design:

I’ve also tried this one, and I used the matte topcoat from ELF Cosmetics.  It works really fast and has a fantastic effect.  Again, I used a toothpick to create the lines on my nails.  The next day my mum had me helping in the garden and my hard work was ruined, but it was lovely while it lasted.

Marble Nails

I accidentally found out about marble nails, and I can’t remember how but I do remember trying a whole bunch of the videos before finding – you guess it – CutePolish.  Her’s really is the best one, as the other videos kind of made me feel sick somehow – they overload the water with polish, film their videos in poor light giving the whole thing a yellowish tone, and don’t bother cleaning round their nails at the end of the video.  Bit nauseating.  Anyway, here’s the golden girl’s video for marble nail art that totally works.  Her tips about the temperature of the water and quality of the nail polish are spot on – I used old-ish nail polish in cold-ish water, and I ended up with just blobs of nail polish dropping to the bottom of the bowl.  The effects are brilliant and always different.  Love this!

Manicured Nails

I’m not talking about those white tips and fake nails.  I mean just healthy, well-looked after nailed with a nice clear or nude colour over the top.  Often, this beats out the nail designs for me – it can give you a real confidence boost to just have a nice basic manicure displaying your clean, neat nails and I think it’s a lot more feminine to wear your nails this way sometimes.  MissChievous features a great video on doing an at-home manicure on her channel, which she finishes with painting her nails red but it’s worth watching through to the end for her tips on how to properly paint your nails in 3 strokes.


So come on, girls, what are you waiting for?  Get on it!

One thought on “Youtube Nail Art Binge

  1. Pingback: Why I Love…Leopard Print « Damn, That's Some Fine Tailoring

Leave a Reply

