Superhero Saturday: Batman

Just to start this post off – there are no spoilers here, I promise. I went to a midnight screening of The Dark Knight Rises last night with my brother, and it was awesome.  That’s basically all I can really say on this subject for two reasons:

1) I don’t want to give away spoilers
2) The terrible tragedy that occurred a few days ago in Colorado.

I’d like to address the second point first.  My experience at the cinema last night was a strange one, I’ll admit; whenever the film featured any scenes of prolonged gun-fire (that’s not a spoiler – ever superhero film has those scenes) I started thinking about those unfortunate people at that midnight screening at Aurora, Colorado, and how they apparently thought that the shots being fired inside the theatre was part of the show.  Earlier in the day my brother showed me a picture on George Takei’s Facebook page, saying that he found the second line to be particularly devastating and I agree.  In a sadly ironic way, the events in Colorado really highlighted one of the reasons behind the popularity of superhero comics and films: people want to believe that there is someone out there who makes it their duty to protect the innocent, the vulnerable, the good – without the ulterior motive of having their name associated with their heroic acts; the latter point being something which cannot be said about the troubled and deluded individuals who carry out atrocities such as this most recent one.

Back to The Dark Knight Rises – as I said before, I don’t want to give anything away about the film so what I’m going to do is just highlight some points that won’t spoil any part of the film but will give you an idea of what you’ve got to look forward to (anyone who knows me will know that my attention span is so short that I need to see a film at least twice if I’m going to start quoting it or recalling scenes, characters or any major plot points).

1) Witness the fitness, people – Tom Hardy and Christian Bale bring the beef… beefCAKE that is, hiyooo!

If you squint, it looks like they’re about to hug

2) It’s a long one, that much is true – but in discussion with my brother, there’s no part of the film really that could be taken out and despite its length the film is actually quite well-paced.


3) Anne Hathaway makes a great Catwoman.  Seriously.  I initially thought she was a terrible choice, but then again I think the only film I’ve seen her in is The Princess Diaries.  She looks fantastic and I love the clever little ways that they managed to get the cat features on her – flippy glasses that look pointy which she puts them on her head.  Plus, she’s got the slinky cat walk down pat.  Fantastic performance from Hathaway!

4) As inappropriate as it may sound given the light of recent events, I have to say that the depiction of terrorism in this film is done with just as much menace and ingenuity as The Dark Knight.  It’s hard to describe what I mean without giving away plot points, but it’s safe to say that the age-old, comic-book stalwart theme of good versus evil is used to full effect.

5) To bring things up to my magic number, my fifth and final point will be simply this – Delta Point in West Croydon features in the film as Gotham General Hospital, and it took every ounce of self-restraint to not leap to my feet and try to get everyone in the screening to chant ‘CROYDON! CROYDON! CROYDON!’ along with me.  But even if I did, I doubt that anyone in the cinema would have noticed, seeing as half of them were on their mobiles throughout the film – I won’t go into how much that annoys me right now… that’s for another time.

Go and see The Dark Knight Rises.  Just go and do it now.

Leave a Reply

